Hugh Hefner was Compassionate to my Transexual Friend

in #hefner7 years ago (edited)


Back in the 90's Hugh paid for my friend Jenn's surgery to become a woman.  She volunteered to allow the surgery to air on television in exchange for paying for the surgery in Mexico.  

She had been travelling with Frank Zappa's crew for a couple years and was dating his body guard John.  Jenn went through with all of the hormones and eventually the actual procedure, but something happened that changed her agreement.  

Unfortunately Jenns' anesthesia was only enough to paralyze her through the surgery, but her consciousness was awake and experienced everything. Every part of the surgery was felt by Jenn, but she could not move to scream or stop it.  The ordeal was so traumatizing that she begged Hugh to excuse her from her contract, and he allowed her to go on with her life without airing the surgery on television. She was not required to pay it back, and nothing was said about it again.  

I respect his compassion to my friend, as he was able to put her feelings first instead of the business deal that they had made.  

She continued a very eccentric interesting life, and I now call her my fairy god-mother because she gifted me with the ability to start an art community in Austin, TX.  She told me these stories sitting at the table as we often would in our Arizona home in 2005. She had been calling BINGO with my husband at the time for over a decade. I am grateful for all of the ways that she inspired me to grow in loving others and in opening my doors to people who are often ostracized for being different.  Turns out that one of her greatest passions -Cirque Du Soleil has off shoots of cirque companies and projects blooming right inside the walls that her gift allowed me to build. 

I honor of Hugh and Jenn, two beautiful original souls that taught the world to think differently. They help us dissolve shame over sexuality and provide a lesson that all people belong to this world.  We are so thankful for their bravery to have a voice even in the danger of being shunned or treated differently.  Hugh's compassion for honoring her humanity over his business should be commended. Rest in Peace, love, unity, artfulness, humor, and honor for ALL PEOPLE.  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78