rabbi

in #hede-io6 years ago

Rabbi is a term given to a Jewish teacher who teaches the law of God and you usually find them in synagogues.

When I go to Israel, I would visit synagogues and in those synagogues, you actually see these bearded old people teaching. People do address them as Rabbi.

I first learned that term 'rabbi' in the Bible when I see that people call Jesus 'rabbi'. And in those days, they seem to be learned people who know more about the wisdom of God and the Bible.

So the word 'rabbi' is used specifically to people who are learned in God's law and can convey God's will to other people. It needs some education about Judaism. I find Judaism fascinating but then when it comes to laws, I find them very binding. It would be good if rabbis can make these laws more interesting to us laymen so that we can have the heart to learn more about God's laws and what we should do on this earth.

I don't see rabbis in other countries. I only see them in Israel and they are dressed formally in their ways.

To me, they may be like philosophers that I know, in the class of Socrates perhaps.

Rabbis are not ordinary people. I want to have a rabbi in my life to mentor me. Do you?


HEDE

Posted on HEDE - A place for sharing knowledge in a friendly way

Read this entry or all entries about rabbi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75