You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It is time to remove all Chametz for Pesach. I am removing other things too.

in #hebrew6 years ago

There are so many things in our lives that can be idols: money, people, jobs, possessions, houses, status, trips, indulgences. There's not necessarily anything wrong with them, but if we put them above God in our hearts, then they're an idol. It's good to take the time to intentionally look at things in our lives that could come before God. Having a cleansing time is good and healthy and can help realign our hearts. :)

Sort:  

So true. my only thought when I read your comments is "Why does this guy have a rep of 54?". You seem to be one of the most genuine people here on Steemit. You opinion is well noted. Some of the things you mention may come under the related title "It is impossible to serve God and Money."

It's not that it is difficult or really hard, but it is impossible. I don't have any photos for that sermon though, so we can leave that for another day. I prefer to teach rather than preach.

Thanks 'noname'

Very nice @hebrew

I am follow you

Thank you! Yeah, I'm still working my way up. Haven't made it "big time" yet. It just means I get more experience learning to be humble.
Although I'm rather sarcastic on some people's posts about random things, I really believe that your message is important. I've had numerous things in life that have taken precedence or priority over God. They might be fun for a time, but even if they're not bad,they're still not His best for me... which is relationship with Him. It's a process, but I also get to experience His grace in the times when I fall short.

Yes, God never said that money was evil. He said that you can't serve Him and it. I look forward to you getting those photos. I'd like to read that article. You seem to have a very grounded and authentic view of God.

By teach rather than preach, I'm assuming that you mean something like "coming alongside people and helping them" rather than "speaking from a soapbox for anyone who will listen." Is that close?

Yes. That is exactly what I mean. There is an old saying, "If you are not walking with the Almighty as closely as you once were, guess who moved?"

He doesn't move in and out of our life. Our choices make, even small ones, sometimes are the start of a slow walk away from Abba.

The beautiful part of it is that even if we choose to walk away... even if it's for years, He still welcomes us back with open arms. It's not a system where He keeps score and adds up our points and demerits. He just wants relationship with each of us. Even if we keep walking away, He'll take us back.

And if we don't get things quite right, that's ok too as long as we're walking with Him. David is a great example of this. Every time he messed up, he went right back to God, and God always took him back. The same is true for us! :)

חג חירות שמח

עבדי הזמן עבדי עבדים הם
עבד ה' הוא לבדו חפשי

רבי יהודה הלוי

Hmmm
It's very much impossible to serve God and money. Money is good but the love of it is evil. There is no way one will serve or love money and be able to love God because the time he or she will be devoting to searching of Scripture to know about God will be shared or probably given to money making activities. Moreso,.money is very evil, it gives man a kind of confidence that attract being insolent to the people of God and to God himself

I love this
Learning from a man coming from the perspective of teaching rather than preaching is what I like. Well-done sir!
As per the impossibility in serving God and money, I totally agree to it. There is no way one will pursue money and one's mind will not be far from God. To serve money takes one time and effort and by that, one deny God the true service he demands
I love this well-done sirs
@hebrew @themanwithnoname

Waooo nice to see your post again this week @hebrew
Everything that is not of God raises itself up against God, even in the life of a Christian. So we constantly have idol pop-ups in our lives. We have to cast them down, but they will be there as long as we live here on earth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48