Sort:  

No, he was speaking Aramaic, a jewish dialect.

thank you for the info., some in Old Testament written in Aramaic.

Yes, the Tanakh which was the base for the Christian Old Testament contains parts in Aramaic but it is mainly in hebrew writen.

Well there are over 70 interpretation in English. They all agree that right here Jesus spoke to a Jew in Hebrew

Act 26:13 At midday, O king, I saw in the way a light from heaven, brighter than the sun, shining round about me and those who journeyed with me.
Act 26:14 And when we were all fallen to the ground, ..I heard a voice speaking to me, in the Hebrew tongue saying, Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?
Act 26:15 And I said, Who are you, Lord? And he said, I am Jesus whom you persecute. It is hard for you to fight against the goads.
Act 26:16 But get up, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared to you for this purpose, to make you a minister and a witness both of these things which you have seen, and of those things which I will show you;

True, is Aramaic not a dialect of Hebrew? Jesus main language was Aramaic but he spoke also Hebrew like you pointed out as hebrew was the liturgical language used in temples.

Love this thread!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64