Breastfeeding is a gift!

in #heath7 years ago

source


I am a firm believer in the power of a mother's milk! What a beautiful blessing we mothers are given to have the ability to provide such a beautiful gift to our babies. 

Breast milk is the perfect mix of vitamins, fat, enzymes and protein for a baby's growth and development. It is full of antibodies, building and strengthening a baby's immune system. Babies that are fed breast milk are less likely to have infections or become sick than babies that are fed substitutes. It can help prevent allergies and asthma, as well as many childhood illnesses. A mother's milk is custom made for her baby! A mother can collect pathogens from her baby's skin by kissing them, which helps the lymphatic system to create antibodies in her milk specific to the baby's environment. 

It is healthy for mothers, too! Breastfeeding helps the body to heal after birth, releases oxytocin (often referred to as the "love hormone"), which helps the mother to feel good, burns calories, and can help lower the risk of breast and ovarian cancer. 


source


I don't understand why a woman would chose not to breastfeed. Don't get me wrong, I understand if there are specific reasons, like not being able to, not having a good supply, or working full-time, etc. And, believe me, I know what it is to experience severe nipple pain and breast infection. But when a healthy woman has no reason not to, I just don't understand why she wouldn't. It has been hypothesized that a woman who doesn't breastfeed may experience feelings of emotional and psychological loss because her body thinks that her baby has died. My mom has a lot of friends who didn't breastfeed, and I don't think they all had reasons why they didn't. Possibly because formula companies were in cahoots with heath care providers, who recommended using formula instead of breast milk. I'm so thankful for my mom giving me the gift of being breastfed.


source


My toddler breastfed until he was 22 months old and he has been extremely strong and healthy, only having had a couple mild cold bugs. Now I am breastfeeding my baby girl and I am savoring every moment. I didn't have the greatest experience with my first baby for the first four months of breastfeeding, but I fought through it and didn't give up because I knew how important breast milk was for my baby. Breastfeeding is a powerful bonding experience for mom and baby that I can't imagine choosing not to have! I'm so thankful for my ability to breastfeed my babies! 


Blessings!



Sort:  

Aw! I am so going to breastfeed my babies!! That is the only way that I will do it!!

It will be beautiful! :D

Mother is a....visible God....

Mothers are blessings, for sure!

Absolutely good article!

Breastfeeding fights infection and good for the child's immune system , good reads here @uglysweater

Yes, exactly! Thanks! 😊

My pleasure uglysweater, thanks for sharing valuable info ;)

Because they want their boobs to stay as they were before.
And than they can be attractive for some banging

This is ignorant.

Super proud of BFing my girl for 2 1/2 years. I loved it and it was so much easier for night feeds. So hard at the beginning so I do see why some Mamas don't continue. A breastfeeding mama needs a lot of support. I miss my little human, they're only small for a fleeting moment, I never believed anyone when they said that but it's true!!! I love being a Mum. Thanks for this most I also love seeing other mama's enjoying mumming ^_^

I agree! Support, support!
I love being a mama, too! And it does go by so quickly!

I’m a lucky Mama that had no trouble with breastfeeding :) I have 3 boys...14yr old/15months almost 3yrs old/14 months and 22 month old still breastfeeding... I think he will give me trouble weaning.

That's great! Way to go, Mama! 😊

I loved the way breastfeeding helped me lose the "baby weight" and get back into my regular clothes faster. :) And, of course, all the other benefits to Mom & Baby you mentioned. Great memories of bonding in a special way with my child that no one else could.

It's crazy how many calories are burned by breastfeeding! 😊
The bonding is so beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26