Broken by the Power of the Word

in #heartache7 years ago

Mind.jpg

There is power in your words,
And you're aware your words have power,
You made promises you never kept,
You made vows which are now broken,
I wish I knew that you didn't mean to hurt me,
I wish I could say you tried,
Or that you at least compromised,
You've no need to do the things that bring me joy,
What sacrifices have you made,
Or at the very least taken care of me when I needed you.

Instead your words puncture me,
At the speed and with the force of bullets shot,
No vest could bear the impact,
They pierced through my shield without resistance,
With the force of an army they aimed for my heart,
My soul an innocent bystander.

Reminded once again of every time that your words have made me cry,
Recalling every bit of rage, frustration and heartache I struggled to bury deep inside,
My wounds bleed from every pore of my being,
You have once again torn my world apart.

Every bit of sacrifice that I have made,
Every bit of effort and love that I have sent your way,
Matters not to you today,
That much is easy to tell,
You want to do what you want and screw all else.

When I am needed,
When you are broken,
When the light has escaped from your grasp,
Broken bruised I take care of you,
Mend you back to whole,
All the love and the support I have provided,
All the times I took care of it all,
None of it matters now,
Because you don't need me,
I have become obsolete in your world.

There's so much pain that I feel numb,
One can mend a broken heart only so many times,
That is before the bleeding can't be stopped.

Yet you continue throwing bullets,
And I continue to stand,
I am not a masochist for remaining,
I blame the love I feel inside,
The same love that I deserve to receive,
For even when you break and you hurt me,
My love I still have you in mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51