#healthyveganicecream mango blood orange lassi nice-cream

Here's my entry for the healthy vegan ice cream challenge - check out this great contest here:

https://steemit.com/vegan/@smallstepschange/healthyveganicecream-challenge-prepare-your-own-vegan-ice-cream-and-win-sbds

My recipe evolved as it came together. First I cut up some fresh mangoes and pureed them.
IMG_7295.JPG

I was going to add frozen bananas in typical nice-cream fashion but changed my mind. I remembered how much I love mango lassi, but I can't use yogurt.

I added some almond milk, a bit of vanilla extract and maple syrup.

IMG_7293.JPG

Then I remembered that I bought a blood orange.
IMG_7294.JPG

IMG_7296.JPG

After blending it I poured it into ramekins and into the freezer they went. The blood orange juice changed the color a bit, but in hindsight, I would just add a few drops to the finished product to provide some contrast and show off the deep red color. I don't know how it will taste, but I'll post back later with the verdict.

IMG_7297.JPG

Sort:  

Ohh, I have never tried such a recipe with maple syrup. Need to give that a try!

It looks awesome :) And a great recipe for me who's not a big fan of the texture bananas give :) Looks amazing!

Hi popsoz,
Thank you for your entry! Awesome and healthy! I like the nice orange color! :)
CU Chris

Really great recipe, I will try it soon. Good work

Ok - Here's the verdict:. They were perfect after about 30 minutes in the freezer. After that, they got frozen solid. The taste was really good. The blood orange gave it a bit of tartness. Next time I will add a little more maple syrup and vanilla to give it more of a lassi flavor. Luckily I have a lot more mangoes!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71