Rosemary...a preventative herb to help combat Alzheimer's disease.

in #healthyliving4 years ago

Since coming to terms with the diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease within my immediate family, I realized I needed to take measures to promote good brain health and neuroplasticity; a fancy term that describes the bendable health of neurons.

I started taking supplemental rosemary filled capsules that contain 700mg of the aerial parts daily. Last year, I learned through a visit to a university's biochemistry department, about the benefits discovered by consuming this helpful herb. Rosemary contains rosmarinic acid, the active moiety that prevents neuron tangle formation caused by sticky proteins. I take it as a preventative measure to thwart the formation of the tau proteins that lodge in the brain tissue.

Thankfully, I have not experienced any side effects from taking it regularly over the past six months. In fact, yesterday I purchased another bottle from a local natural foods store. I am hopeful it will play a role in staving off the development of this damaging tendency that leads to dementia and memory loss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39