Healthy cooking and eating.

in #healthyeating6 years ago

I love cooking good, healthy food. My garden and my kitchen are two of my happy places. In this day and age where we are faced with preservative laden foods in our supermarkets, I prefer to know where most of the ingredients I use in my cooking come from. I am a home cook, who loves watching any television programme that has anything to do with healthy cooking and beautifully presented food. I confess that I use what I see on these programmes to cook more by taste and sight, rather than from a recipe. DSCN9799.JPGI always have basic herbs like flat leaf parsley, thyme, sage, oregano and chives growing in pots amongst the plants in my flowerbeds. DSCN9800.JPGRosemary is used as a decorative plant as well as in my cooking. DSCN9801.JPGMint roams free amongst other plants, which include marigolds as they always add a splash of colour and their smell is supposed to keep away certain insects, however, which insects I have not as yet found out!
Today I felt like making a Roasted Butternut Soup so needless to say, I went out to my herb pots and collected thyme, parsley and chives - unfortunately the butternut was the shop-bought variety. DSCN9802.JPG I chopped up two butternut squash and drizzled Macadamia Nut Oil over them and roasted the pieces for about an hour at 180 degrees C. DSCN9811.JPG About 15 minutes before the end of the roasting process, I added a large chopped onion (also shop-bought I have to confess), to bring out the natural sweetness of the onion. DSCN9812.JPGThe roasted butternut and onion was then placed in a pot, covered with chicken stock and one cup of orange lentils were added. DSCN9814.JPGBring to the boil and cook until the lentils are soft but not chalky. This is where tasting comes in to play. You can also add salt and black pepper at this stage if you so wish. DSCN9815.JPG The roughly chopped parsley and thyme leaves were added and cooked for literally 5 minutes and the soup was slightly cooled. I then poured the soup into my food processor and gave it a good blitz until smooth, or to your own preference. DSCN9816.JPG Sprinkle fresh chopped chives on top of your soup to add extra flavour.
If you like a bit of a bite to your soup, you can add ginger powder to your soup before blitzing it. I hope you will give this a try.

Sort:  

This is fantastic I’m alway looking for a great butternut soup recipe:) and having fresh herbs out your garden is always a plus I can’t wait for a bit more rain then I can plant some herbs again we had so many but sadly with the drought most have died

I hope you will enjoy trying my recipe. I'm sure the lack of rain is discouraging for you.

mmmh pumpkin soup! :-)
I hope my harvest will be good this year, looking forward to cooking all kinds of pumpkin recipes!

Ooh, that looks yummy!

Thank you so much. Hopefully you will try the recipe.

We had roast veg soup last night ( Actually, moxed roast veg leftover from a roast and then blitzed till smooth but hey, close enough).
I'll definitely give your recipe a go. Roasting butternut gives it such a lovely smooth silky taste that you don't get from just boiling it.

That sound like a good idea to use up left over veg.

Glad to see your post is doing so well. <3

Congratulations @i-spy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you. Very encouraging.

That sensation of taking out what you need from the garden for your kitchen is the maximum I do too and it is rewarding ... good post I follow you!

It certainly is rewarding. I hope to share more in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97