Healthy 2018: Top to Bottom | Inside and Out | Beginning to End

My Healthy 2018 mantra is: Balance with a focus on self-care

I don’t just mean self-love where you remind yourself how awesome you are, or how you focus on minimizing the self-destructive criticism we can all be guilty of laying on.
I’m talkin’ about some real. serious. CARE.
Top to bottom, inside and out.

hair.jpg

I love my red hair, even if it comes from my stylist’s bottle. Is it an expense I’m willing to continue? Yes! When I feel like I’m looking my best, I can totally take on the day and be a beast(ette)!

I will spend less time in front of the television (college football being the exception). Instead, I will read more books and watch more sunrises. I’ll sit in the garden and have the bees entertain me. I’ll relax on the beach and let the agates find me. I’ll stargaze after the sun sets, and I’ll learn which way is north (DAMNIT!).

I am going to focus on better breathing, doing yoga, more outdoor exercise like trail running. I am going to find ways to continue going to the gym for strength training.

woods.jpg

I’m going to drink more water, more herbal tea, less caffeine and way less alcohol.

I need to slow down on my sugar intake. It’s just so damned tasty, and I love it. I’m also the kind of person that feels guilty when I see food getting “wasted” and there’s always chocolate in the office. Maybe I’ll just cut my fingers off so I can’t open the candy wrappers.

Kundalini energy. Chakra work. Daily grounding. Meditative barefoot walking. All of that and more. Opening up. Letting go. Circles and circles and circles again.

art.jpg

I will no longer make excuses for not painting. I have the supplies and I have the space. When the muses call I will answer and honour them.

I am also going to take better care of my skin. I’ll take my mascara off before I go to sleep. I’ll use mouthwash more consistently. I’ll find a lotion or salve or something that I like, to keep my skin from drying out and losing its elasticity (drinking more water will also help that). I’ll also continue using the amazing bar soap that I have, I’ll take shorter (5 minute) showers and I will soak in a bath when my muscles cry out for it!

  • I will work as hard as I have been, and I’ll slow down when I’m tired.
  • I will continue to set goals for myself, and I will honor my limits and admit when I can’t do it all.
  • I will always be strong, and I will get better at asking for help.

The end result will be calmness, serenity, and peace.
2017 provided challenges that I am still powering through, and 2018 provides an opportunity to master them.

Thank you to @goldendawne for the energy behind this Healthy 2018 Contest. Search the tag healthy2018 to learn more! Winners will be announced Saturday January 13, 2018

Sort:  

Wow, that was inspiring! If it crosses your mind throughout the year, give up some updates on how it’s going.

thank you! i need to have some sort of accountability updates, for sure. i've been good at logging my water intake through my fitbit app, so that's nice.

Sounds like you've got a wonderful year ahead! ( :

you know what ... i sure do. gotta go in, full STEEM ahead with those powerful intentions!

I can see a lot of self love in this post and having your own best interest as a top priority. Nice! this is so inspiring.

Your paintings are really very beautiful! As a set and on their own.

thank you! 2017 taught me that if your self is not well taken care of, you can't give consistently at a high level. gotta have a good foundation before anything else is added!

those are just a small touch of what i've done - they're watercolours treated with salt grains. i have so much more. i hope to figure out a way to barter/sell them here. that will start in early to mid february, though.

I agree! I learned intuitively that I cannot give well without having the self in a good place.. of course without doing a lot of hard work I could not have realized it even if it "made sense".

wow so cool with the salt effects! I just told @idyllwild about your idea of bartering/selling the paintings on steemit and she is interested to learn how for her own artwork and craft wares. keep us posted!!

i totally will share more when i learn more!

Thanks! Looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50