Healthy2018 Update: Health Screening Passed, Mediterranean Dinner Recipe & More

in #healthy20187 years ago

Healthy 2018 Update


ddd.jpg


Well, after spending endless hours at the hospital outpatient facility this morning with my husband (he was having a wellness outpatient procedure done), I can calmly inform everyone the test was GOOD... nothing out of the ordinary and he has been cleared for a decade.

But now... we still have the battle with his higher-than-high cholesterol. He goes back to the primary doctor for another blood draw in about three weeks- so fingers crossed. Once we get this under control we should be good to go with health concerns for some time.

Remaining vigilant with my healthy eating habits, I wanted to combine his health scares with my new love for cooking healthier and experimenting with my herbs, spices and even making a simple sandwich for lunch.


ss.jpg

Lightly toasted French bread with spinach, Bulgarian Feta cheese & homemade sandwich sauce made from plain yogurt, lemon juice, salt/pepper and a little cayenne pepper.

In the past, I would have skipped the homemade sauce and slathered real mayonnaise PLUS added some type of processed lunch or deli meat and packaged cheese slices. MUCH healthier now! And still completely 100% filling.


I'm also including the recipe I have made recently (numerous times due to requests from my husband) for my Mediterranean Pasta Dish.

Here was the original healthy2018 post.

Mediterranean Pasta Recipe

1-lb lean ground beef or ground lamb
1 can low sodium beef or chicken broth
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 onion diced
2 cloves garlic- diced/chopped finely
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 cup frozen spinach- thawed and squeezed of moisture/water

1 cup penne pasta (uncooked)
Feta cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Brown meat, onions and garlic
Add broth, tomatoes, all spices and pasta. Let simmer in a low rolling bowl until pasta is cooked to preferred firmness. Toss in spinach and stir. Just before serving sprinkle Feta Cheese on top and season with salt & pepper.

Here is the original post



18 days ago when I first reported I was down nine pounds I felt happy, motivated and, actually, a teeny-weeny bit healthier.

So today I can HAPPILY report, my total weight loss is 16 pounds; considering the sub-zero temperatures here since before Christmas has been a hindrance on our exercise and walking outside, I still feel GREAT about my accomplishment.

My end result weight loss, or weight maintained, goal is 45 pounds.

I know I can do it. And once spring gets here and I can get outside more, have more activities in the garden... I shall meet and hopefully surpass that number.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Congratulations on the weight loss. I took off 40 lbs. this summer myself. :) feels wonderful doesn't it! Keep up the good work. I will have to try the pasta dish. Love everything that is in it.

Awesome! Eating real food provides real results! We have found that we hardly eat any "American" foods...about 7 years ago we went meat free and then dairy free 4 years ago. @freedompoint has better health than he ever has, and it all started because he wanted to lower his potential for heart attack and stroke, which runs in his family 😊

We are on the Mediterranean based meal plan and we are loving it!
We eat more broiled fish, well, more fish in general and I am actually already feeling the difference!

Hate to say it.. but hubby's bad health and my bad menu planning actually saved us!

That's so fantastic! I'm really happy for you guys...I hope you continue to find great meals to make. If you ever get in a rut, just let me know, I have a few Mediterranean recipes to share!

Congratulations. I begin my healthy journey tomorrow!

I wish you good success!

What are your plans? Goals?

Thank you very much! My goal is to gain my strength back and lose 10 kg of my pregnancy weight!

That is definitely do-able. Do you have a partner or support person, or are you going it alone?

Hubby dearest is helping out! Thank you so much :)

Glad your hubby is ok! The food you’re cooking looks delicious and I’m sure it will boost yall’s health ;) mmm ! Carry on with that delicious Mediterranean diet. Can never go wrong with feta!!

Bulgarian Feta is my newest love of cheese... little bit of tang little bit of saltiness... it's perfect!

And yes... ME too about hubby's health! Those things can really rock your world

Good job! This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48