Why I Eat Oats For Breakfast Every Single Day

in #healthy6 years ago

IMG_20180528_081545.jpgNow that I've hit 40, looking and feeling the best I can possibly be is one of the highest things on my agenda along with making awesome memories with my husband & kids AND our mission to connect people in a better way through HaGGLA- start-up I co founded with my partner.

Having spent my early 20's skipping breakfast and eating crap I know this is NOT the route to looking and feeling your very best, neither is drinking diet coke all day. I was the biggest, unhealthiest, most lethargic and sportiest I've ever been.

By the time I reached 30, I'd had 4 kids and decided to change things massively. I didn't wanna be a frumpy, tired mum. I was heavily involved in the beauty and fashion business and feeling frumpy for me did not make me feel comfortable.

Both my parents had also developed diabetes at that time so big change was needed if I didn't want to end up like them.

I decided to take action and read all I could about how I could become a better, healthier, happier & fitter version of me.

One of the biggest changes I made was eating Oats for breakfast. Oats with hot water and fruit. Some days I'd add strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and other days I'd add chopped up banana with coconut shavings.

The benefits of kicking off your day by eating Oats is amazing. Here are just a few:

  • Oats are full of antioxidants and even more so when you supercharged with extra fruit. Helping to fight free radicals that cause ageing.

  • Oats keep you fuller for longer, this is the one that helps with weight loss. You won't need to reach out for a snack after eating Oats, it's enough to keep you going for a while.

  • Oats helps lower your blood sugar. With my parents being diabetic this is a biggie for me.

  • I got 99 problems but constipation ain't one of them. Oats are rich in fibre so helps keep you regular.

  • Oats are so cheap, way cheaper than cereal that are full of crap.

At 40, I'm the slimmest, fittest, healthiest and happiest I've ever been.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I thought everyone who told me this was just preaching. Turns out they weren't.

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Congratulations @natashajgordon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60309.45
ETH 2701.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48