Vegan Chipotle Copy-Cat Burrito! Recipe & Cost Included

in #healthy7 years ago (edited)

Just thought I would share with you my vegan lunch for the day since it is an easy and filling meal. I have been craving Chipotle lately so I decided to try and replicate one of their burritos. Here is what I did...

First, you are going to need some tortillas that have not been made with lard. I live in Arizona and shop at Winco so I use the brand Guerrero Tortillas.

Second, you will need to make some rice. Use white or brown, whatever you feel like and add some chopped cilantro and a squeeze of lime. Lemon Pepper or whatever spices you like would be a nice addition as well.

Third, you will need some beans. I prefer pinto or black beans.

Now you have a basic burrito that is filling and will get you by, but we are going to spice it up a bit. A few more things to add would be Corn, Green Salsa, Sautéed Bell Peppers/Onions or Avocado.
IMG_5229.JPG

Lastly, if you can find a Vegan meat substitute this will step it up another level. I was able to find a Vegan Mexican Chipotle Sausage so I browned this up and threw it in the burrito.

IMG_1470.JPG

Remember to not take this burrito too seriously just throw in whatever you have!

Here is the Recipe and a rough estimate of what the items cost just for this meal, some items you will buy once and use multiple times. This is a great recipe you can meal prep for the week and have healthy burritos on deck. Remember to stay open and creative with your dishes, all items and specifics are just suggestions!

  1. Tortillas (Non Lard) (Wheat) 3$ for 12
  2. Rice (Brown) $1
  3. Corn $1
  4. Beans (Black) $1
  5. Salsa (Green) $1
  6. Vegan Sausage $4
  7. Avacado $2
  8. Spinach $1
  9. Cilantro $1
  10. Lime $1

So roughly $15 and an hour of prepping can get you a dozen small burritos, putting them at about $1.25 each.

Try it out and let me know, I make them all the time and they are so tasty and filling! If you like this post please share and spread the love. Leave comments and let me know if there is any other ideas or recipes you would like me to make and post! Thanks for your time! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63875.92
ETH 2747.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65