The Twins Learn Sign Language ... And Try To Teach Mommy & Daddy

in #healthy-home6 years ago (edited)

Learning to communicate

While the twins jabber quite a bit between themselves, we don’t always understand what they’re saying. Once they started solids, we knew we needed a way to communicate with them. Along with the ability to eat solid foods comes the opportunity to have choices ... and while “unna, unna” made perfect sense to them, we couldn’t tell whether it meant “milk,” “carrot,” or “I’m full.”

My mom was an interpreter for the deaf, so we grew up with some sign language in the house. She taught us our first words in sign and then later, we had family code words in sign. Of course, every family probably has some unspoken way of communicating, “you’re in big trouble when we get home.” But we also knew at a glance if we needed to excuse ourselves and go home, how to tell Dad we were okay from across the room, and how to finger spell someone’s name that another person had forgotten.

I was given a baby sign language book (and of course there are a LOT of resources on the Internet) so we started teaching the girls a few phrases. It was a slow start, but the girls having been picking up signs faster.

The twins’ dictionary

Here are the words they know currently.

Please

This was the first word they learned. We repeated it with them over and over. And now they’re pros ... they’ve realized it tends to get them whatever they’re asking for 😉


Cracker, More or Cheese

It took a long time to get “please” down. But once foods became involved, their learning speed was much faster. “Cracker” is usually done by tapping your non-dominate elbow with the palm of your dominant hand, but so far, this is the closest they can get.

“More” was something our friends tried to teach them. It’s a little vague, so we don’t use it a lot. Plus it’s similar to the twins’ version of cracker.

We’ve also learned “cheese” recently, but it is a little confusing because it involves pressing your two palms together ... which looks a lot like “cracker” when they do it. But we’re working on being more precise. I don’t think it’ll be too difficult since that is high on their list of preferred foods.


Pancake

They loved learning this sign. Pancakes are one of their favorites. It’s also fairly easy - position your hand flat, palm up and then flip it over ... like flipping a pancake.

Unfortunately for the girls, I like trying new pancake recipes, so they don’t always get the pancakes they were hoping for. Their favorite is made with applesauce (no eggs and no milk, so it’s a good recipe to have for friends with allergies and also easy to make!)


All done

Teaching them this sign has made my life so much easier! Instead of throwing their food on the floor, they can tell me “all done” and get cleaned up. I can also let them know when something they like is gone (otherwise, they look at me like I’m holding out on them ...) and when I’ve finished changing their diaper so they can sit up.


Words of their own

As we’ve been teaching them sign language, the girls will come up with words of their own. It took me awhile to realize what Squirt meant when she did this.

I noticed her doing this - covering her ear when she would get in trouble. I wasn’t sure what she was doing. Then one day, she did it when I asked, “Can you blow kisses?” That’s when I realized I tend to cover her ear with my hand when I kiss her on her head! 😊


Now maybe your thinking, so Squish does the same thing, that’s cute ... but actually this is how she plays Peekaboo! 😂 it’s not hard to see why. Of course, if you give her a blanket, she’ll cover herself completely until you ask, “Where’s Squish?” I guess hands are harder...


This is one of those “twinnisms” (I just made that up here ... My spellchecker is telling me it’s definitely not a word). Sometimes the girls do exactly the same thing at exactly the same moment. They don’t even look at each other. They just do it. And when they do this, they’re trying to tell me how cute they are. All I have to say in response is, “Awww, I love you guys” and then they grin and laugh.


In the works

We’re still adding signs to the twins’ vocabulary. And trying to take pictures of the words they know (like milk). Right now, they’re still practicing: peanut butter, french toast, carrot, berry, water, and a few more I can’t remember 😅

In the meantime, we also use the good ole, “this or this” method of showing them two items and letting them pick. 😂

Words, Words, Words

Twins are known to be slower at communicating verbally ... probably because they understand each other so well. Of course, @ironmanmatt has his name in neon lights around here ... everything is “da” or “dada”. Sigh. Maybe they’ll learn to sign “Mom” first...

And then there is the universal sign...

Bye! Until next time...


https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/helenoftroy-the-twins-learn-sign-language--and-try-to-teach-mommy--daddy-xaxkwqmy-1537285390270.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

They are so adorable! It's great to see them making signs of their own too, so cute! 😄

Omg they are so cute!

Posted using Partiko Android

@helenoftroy, Your twins so cuteee. How you differentiate them? They look alike to me:) Full of mother's love in your article. It was a good idea to taught toddler in sign language but amaze me was how they understand and catch up the sign language. In average, how long they learnt one sign? You really a supermom. Lot of kisses to the twins ..

Thanks @oliviackl! I can mostly tell by their personalities but there are a few small physical differences too...

As far as how quickly they learn a sign ... it really depends on how consistently we demonstrate it and how badly they want to learn it. Once they realized it was a way to communicate with us, it definitely got easier!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just curious, since they are twins. If one sister master in one hand language, would be the other sister also master it easily?

Our twins have very different personalities, so while the younger one caught on the fastest (she is a people person and likes to communicate), the older one can remember more signs ... especially now that she realizes we know what she wants when she uses certain signs!! :D

It must be like an adventure for you everyday. To spend your day with the twins and tried to learn their language as well beside they have to learn the signs. Lot of hugs to the twins.

Hi helenoftroy,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you @curie! What a great surprise 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, very nice @helenoftroy ☺ Congrats on getting curated 👍

Wow. This is a fascinating discovery for me. I didn't imagine tods can learn to communicate through sign language before they begin speaking. I want my kids already 😍

Amazing twins you got there. Adorable 🙂

Thanks @misterakpan! Sign language definitely helps! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very nice post @helenoftroy I thought it was so cute when Squirt signed for a kiss by covering her ear 😊

And if you want to write more about the type of foods you feed your children, it would help other parents like me.

P.S. I noticed some of the things you feed them and it gave me ideas (i.e. pancakes).

That’s good to know! I was actually thinking about doing a food post soon! Hopefully I can pull it together for tomorrow. Please let me know if you find it helpful! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sure @helenoftroy I most definitely will!

Baby Zac is a picky eater so anything you write about feeding your children will help 😊👍

Awwww the twins are so cute @helenoftroy!! And it is great that they learn early sign language to communicate. I remembered my sis-in-law did the same with her kids and it was so helpful. They know how to ask for milk, and yes, I remember "please"! Hope they will learn to sign or say MaMa or Mom soon :)

I just saw your profile description:

Lifelong learner. Enthusiastic teacher. Happy wife and mother. Collecting stories from my travels and living life to the fullest - in love, in faith, and in pu...

I'm curious, what's that last word Helen?

Anyways, thanks for sharing your healthy-home tips especially in twin's sign language. Readers with little twins will love that.

Hi @ronel, I wonder why it was cut off 🤔 which platform do you use?

It’s “in love, in faith, and in purity” (in reference to 1 Timothy 4:12 😊)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh purity!
I like it!
Thanks for that!

Hi @ronel, I wonder why it was cut off 🤔 which platform do you use?

What do you mean by platform? I use Steemit.

Its actually raining here now, a little bit of a heavy rain. Another typhoon is expected to come. We just had a super typhoon last week. September - November is actually the typhoon season here in our country.

I just checked on Steemit.com and saw what you mean. On other platforms, like SteemPeak and Busy.org, the entire profile description is visible. I'll have to adapt it to fit on Steemit.com :)

Oh!
I only use Steemit ever since. I don't know about SteamPeak or busy.org
I seldom post or blog long content on Steemit. I'm not a good content creator. I'm satisfied with making comments because its very short.
I'm lazy indeed! lol

ohhh you really really have a beautiful child and right now with the comunicatión skill, you really enjoy better your child very very comunicate.

Yes, you’re right @galberto, it does make things more enjoyable ... for the twins too, I think! 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing your experience of teaching sign language to your kids! This post gives a lot of food for brain to think about where can sign language be applied in other areas of communication. For example, can it be taught to some more intelligent pets? If so, what would be the first step?

Sign is a great tool ... it’s also amazingly beautiful to watch! I play sign language stories for the girls and they’re fascinated. There was a TedTalk about sign language ... I’ll see if I can find it and link to it later.

I think they have successfully taught some sign language to monkeys but I’m not sure where I heard that... and it was awhile ago.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes and if it was a while ago, the monkeys might already forgotten it...😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80