The Twins Experience Moving MayhemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #healthy-home6 years ago

Moving Mayhem


We've moved a lot since getting married, but Matt and I agreed this was probably one of the hardest yet.


The girls enjoying their new play space while I unpacked

Some things were logistically difficult, while others were comically challenging. There were even a few moments that rivaled the “Three Stooges” :P Picture a really heavy door that leads to the service elevator, a 5’4” me, and a load of things that need to get through the door - including a long, pole-like object, a bath stand, a trash can, and a bag of miscellaneous items. Not to mention that the door is actually two half doors that require pushing a “door exit” button to unlock and neither side stands open by itself. If I were to request the CCTV footage from that trip, I’m pretty sure I’d have the next slapstick comedy hit.

Cancel the moving truck


Some moments were not so funny though. On Saturday, our friends had arranged to help us load our big furniture onto a truck (or lorry as they’re known here) and move it into our new place. When Matt went to the management office to notify them, they informed him that there was an $800 deposit required in case of damages from the vehicle or extra movers!

With our current situation, we didn’t have that on hand, so we had to change plans. I listed most of the furniture for sale and then disassembled some of the smaller pieces - a table and the girls’ cribs - to transport in a smaller vehicle.

Later in the week we rented a van and started taking down small loads on our own. When I last blogged, we were at the tail end. Matt brought us down first thing in the morning, then spent the rest of the day bringing boxes and bags. We had rented the van for two days, hoping to finish in that time. But it ended up taking longer. The girls and I spent the night in our new place. And Matt extended the rental, staying at a friend's house closer to our old apartment. First thing in the morning, he brought another load. We finally finished up in the early afternoon.

Disconnected


Knowing that we had less than two weeks before Matt left, I got our new house organized as quickly as possible. Not having Internet probably helped a little as there were fewer distractions. But on Sunday, we lost our phone service too. Since we were relying on that, we didn't have a way to get around or contact anyone. It finally came back on halfway through the day!

The next day, they installed our Internet. But two days later (just as I was going to get back to blogging), Matt got really sick. He basically spent the night in the bathroom. We were supposed to go and clean the old apartment, but I didn't want our sitters to catch whatever we had. Not to mention Matt could hardly get out of bed. Instead, the girls and I went by ourselves to meet up with someone buying our bookcases. I tried to clean a little while we waited, but without a pack-n-play, it wasn't easy to keep the girls occupied.

Swimming in it ... not just water

We muddled through Friday and Saturday while still trying to get last-minute things taken care of before Matt leaves on Tuesday.

Since Matt was feeling a little better, we took the girls swimming. We've actually been to the pool a lot here. The girls love being in the water! Squish makes the cutest exclamations when we pull out the swimsuits and towels. And the water is just the right temperature.

Then last night, Squirt got really sick. For most of the night, I held her on my lap while she vomited all over the both of us. She seemed much better this morning. But with her sister not feeling well either, I wasn't sure I'd even get to write this post. Thankfully, it looks like Squish and I might make it through with only minor symptoms.

Plan B Plan C Plan Y


Since we couldn't get everything done on Thursday like we hoped, Matt and I postponed our plans until tomorrow. But with the girls still on the mend, it looks like we have to change them up again. Matt's going back by himself to clean and pick up a few things we couldn't get earlier. And I'll stay back with the girls.

The owner couldn't arrange the key handover appointment until after Matt leaves, so I'll be doing that later in the week by myself with the girls.

I just really hope tomorrow goes as planned. We've had so many changes and delays ... Matt's departure has come up fast. I've been trying to prepare myself mentally and physically - figuring out how I'll get around with the twins and no vehicle, slowly taking on the jobs that Matt normally does for me, and getting to know our neighborhood. It won't sink in emotionally though until Tuesday.

I've been putting off reality for as long as I can ... but by the time this posts, there'll only be 24 hours left before reality is here!


Update: After getting this post ready, Squish woke up at 1am and we had a repeat of the other evening :( Guess I'm the only one left ...

Sort:  

Wow oh wow!!! What an exciting world we live in!

I hope the rainbow starts to shine and the thunderstorms have finally past!

Peace

I hope so too! Things have felt pretty stormy for months now ... and it has been taking its toll on all of us :( But maybe things will settle down now!

Hey @helenoftroy. I'm glad you're back blogging after 2 weeks (?) of missing you in here. I can't say the same about your current situation though :( With Matt leaving tomorrow and with all those stuffs to do. I hope you and the girls could keep up. What happened to Squish and Squirt by the way? I hope they get better real soon (like real soon). If you are near, I would love to lend a hand (like literally) but I guess all I can do from here is to support you. Take care please.

Thanks so much @filnette! I've missed being on Steemit, but it's been a rollercoaster. We all got a stomach bug - vomiting and diarrhea - it's hit one person after the after and lasts for a couple of days. Matt got it Wednesday and he still isn't feeling 100%. The girls seem better, but still fussy and not eating a lot. It was my turn last night. I can't hold down any solids, but the sick feeling comes in waves. So in between, I'm able to get some things done. Hope you're doing well! I'll try to stop by your blog later when the girls are napping!

That's frustrating to hear. How about now? Are you guys okay now? Was that because of the water or just some virus? Take care there! I'm good. I just started with my new job and adjusting but so far so good. Hope to hear more from you soon.

Feeling better today! The girls seem to be getting over the last of it. I think it was just a virus. Glad to hear you started your new job! Hope it goes smoothly as you get adjusted :)

Hi there Helen! I'm glad that the girls are doing better now. Do you too? I have high hopes in this job and I hope it goes smoothly. Thank you.

Moving moving moving....yeah that comes with its own troubles. I hope Squirt and ur husband has fully recovered now. I wish your hubby safe trip. Its not going to be easy for you alone with the kids, you should try going to that pool often when you feel exhausted. The pool looks really good.

Thanks @zilze! It's going to be challenging for sure - but I think I'll learn a lot about single parenting!

We really like the pool too! It was a bonus we weren't expecting when we were looking for places to rent. :)

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-a-a I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-a-a and @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65805.01
ETH 3514.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47