Paramedic report: Anaphylactic shock an allergic reaction to shellfish

in #healthcare7 years ago (edited)

1.jpg
I will do my best to keep all HIPPA laws in check. Which basically means I cannot give any info that would identify anyone in any way possible. I also cannot talk about high profile cases. I think I have done a good job of not violating these rules but please notify me if I have somehow.
hipaa-logo-certificate.png

All photos are taken from the internet randomly

Allergic Reaction to shellfish

32 year old female; ate a plate of shrimp. She told me she always had a suspicion of an allergy because it runs in the family so she has never eaten more than 3 at a time. She says tonight she ate approximately 20. Face is very swollen around the eyes and lips; says her tongue is swollen. Rash and hives all over her chest, shoulders and neck.

This is anaphylactic shock - a severe allergic reaction and is life threatening.
Symptoms-of-anaphylactic-shock-649095.jpg

She has stridor in the upper airway and coughing non-stop



Placed on high flow oxygen with a mask
thMECOO9H2.jpg

Heart rhythm is tachycardia
Sinus tachycardia.jpg

Large gauge needle is used for an IV attached to fluids incase I need them

4183266832_2e040a3761_b.jpg
ANA-7Jan10-94.jpg

Medications given:

Benadryl aka diphenhydramine 50mg through an IV. This stops the histamine production and prevents further damage from reaction to an allergen. Used in most allergic reactions

Epinephrine; high dose 1:1,000 (0.3mg) Intramuscular. This actually reverses the effects of histamines. Only used in anaphylactic reactions that have a threat to the airway.

lights--sirens_10858803.jpg

All images are taken from bing.com under keywords mentioned above

If I am doing anything that violates hippa or if you have any concerns - please voice them because I would be happy to hear or take down this post. I thought it would be kind of cool to have a medical discussion; people can learn or even I could learn by someone else sharing knowledge. This is only 1 out of 7 calls I had but this one was the most interesting.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

Sort:  

Really interesting post, thank u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43