How I pay for mi dad healthcare using Bitcoins

in #healthcare7 years ago

My mom and dad both have diabetes and high blood pressure, they both have over 60 years old and in a normal country they will have their medicine, and if they need to go to the doctor they would. And the insurance will take care or pay and that will be the end of the history.

But we are talking about Venezuela, nothing is normal there. So is a continuous struggle to find medicines, and when you sent them the authorities steal them. I use smugglers to get medicine to my parents, but insulin has to be refrigerated, so the only way I have found is to buy it in the black market.

Despite they have been taking their medications my dad had a high blood pressure episode, public hospital are out off the question, public hospitals don't have medicines or any supply to treat the patience correctly, private healthcare is expensive for people that have an income in Bolivares, and a lot of times don't have treatment either, but anyway it was the safest bet.


Public Hospital in Venezuela

Now... keep in mind there is a Currency control In Venezuela, so, if I send money trough, let's say western union for every 100USD that I send, my family will only get 4.42USD (Minus Commissions). The total treatment that includes 2 days in ICU was something like 120USD, it doesn't seems like a lot, but keep in mind that the average salary in Venezuela is 0,26USD per day, and if I send the money via Wester Union that will mean I have to send something like 2714USD.
And in top of this, is Sunday, so no bank is working, the philosophy of Bitcoin was "Be your own Bank"so, that day I give it a shot.
Y found a guy buying bitcoins in Venezuela https://localbitcoins.com/accounts/profile/PETERCONT/ trust this guy!And I sold them some Bitcoins (Which I had previously bought using Colombian Pesos). And instruct him to make the wire transfer to the clinic account were my dad was, and Voila!
Contact-16986175-attachment-105384029.jpg

The Clinic had the money, and to make it even cooler, the medical doctor leave her professional honorariums outside the bill (She is a friend of the Family) So I insist to let me pay her using BTC, and she accept.

Now my dad is healthy and happy and leaving to see another day, thanks to Modern Medicine, Bitcoin and really well prepared doctors.

We are currently doing our best to get him his passport and bring him to Colombia, but again, is Venezuela, nothing is easy over there, hope to publish soon something like "How I pay for my dad passport using bitcoins".

Sort:  

Hola @chuox, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
4317 2056 4069 4415
5207 2195 9819 3155
7741 8674 2838 2325
9905 7482 6154 4875

Congratulations @chuox! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32