Fractured & Furious

in #healthcare5 years ago

I recently "journaled" regarding the scenario in which my ribs had been fractured, pre-Christmas.

I was treated EXTREMELY poorly at my closest Emergency Room. More than once. I just walked out, twice, and hoped for a doctor with bigger ears on my next go.

On my last try, there, I abandoned hope and traveled to a hospital where doctors respect their patients and treat them like people.

I later returned to both hospitals, in slightly better condition. The first to issue threats and demand to speak to administration. The other to thank them for treating me like a Human Being and for having restored some of my dignity; and, also, to teach them what I knew about Comfrey Root, because that information can be passed on to people with osteoporosis or broken bones that can't be casted, like the clavical. I wrote everything down, so they could make copies for anyone with interest or who might need it.

Hilariously, they tried to admit me, before they knew I just wanted to teach them something. But, while they were taking my vitals, I started practising some deep breathing techniques. Cuz I really was on the edge of a panic attack. When they saw my reaction to the numbers, and then the numbers reaction to me, the doctor exclaimed, "Wow! You have amazing control..."

I was like "IKR! I mean, thanks." LOL

The reaction I got at the other hospital was quite different.

They've had time to think that maybe I didn't mean the shit I said. They've had time to remember other instances and wrongs that I left alone, in the long run, during more beaten down times. They've seen my fire, but never felt me harness the flame. They've likely failed to realize that some people wait until the sizzle hits the end of the fuze and then burn down everything they can reach. They've had time to relax.

If they were concerned when I showed up and spoke to administration, they've gotta be shitting themselves, now. Cuz I just called and requested a hard copy for every ER visit I attempted. And I'm going to write a strongly worded book, which may be referred to as a Letter of Complaint.

Then, I'm gonna get saucy and request a shit ton of other files. Cuz I need dates n stuff.

I can't wait to watch em scramble, and hope higher ups feel fear about whether I'd ever be able to find a decent lawyer through my network of connections.

I already know BAH is next to impossible to sue, because they're privately owned; AND that bothering would be harder for me than for them; AND I'm just a busy person, tryna pursue other things, while balancing current responsibilities; but I hope that's still a concern that sits in someone's brain.

I also hope I ruin at least two peoples entire fucking week or month or something. I know one person has already been reprimanded, because he made a threatening motion in front of a decent nurse, who said words in that moment, and I already knew who he was when I spoke to administration.

I don't know whether he's still there, now, but I'm actually aiming for that one's job, if he still has it. It's not the first time I've thought he shouldn't work there, or anywhere like it, nor was that small action the worst of his infractions against my person, but it IS the first time I've decided to push every button I can see until something happens.

It's also the first time I've decided to tell someone else's story to drive home my point. Even though I can't use someone else's tale as proof, without that person, I can still use it as hear-say that nobody could un-read.

#healthcare
#sickandtired
#journalentry
#interactivejournaling
#journalingforsport

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71