You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quit Smoking - Everything (A-Z) about Quitting Smoking

in #health7 years ago

Excellent post braini - though I feel there are inaccuracies, it's very in-depth and should be helpful for just about anyone wanting to quit.

On a personal note, I've tried a million-and-one ways over the years.

Champix (Varenicline), which I've been on for the last 53 days is head and shoulders above the rest imho. NRT (nicotine replacement therapy) methods tend to keep you hooked on nicotine - though at least you're not damaging your lungs. Champix (which isn't NRT) just requires you drop a tablet whenever and your cravings vanish. I self-dose cough and am now on a 1 mg tablet every six days. In just over 4 weeks, I should be good to brave it alone with a significant stockpile of the wonderdrug should 'other things' lead me astray.

Crucially, whatever method is used, it helps to stop hanging around with other people that smoke. I recently moved a couple of hundred miles so am very fortunate in that the only people I befriend these days are non-smokers.

Finally, it's great in that it (ie. champix) doesn't impact on the Friday night sessions in the pub!

I

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44