Let's Learn How To Yoga: Lotus Pose

in #health8 years ago

Hi Everyone!

It's drawing closer to Christmas time, and I am quite excited because I have always loved the holidays. I am well aware of the fact that it is a consumer fly trap, but i love any excuse to spend time with my family.

On the 11th day of Christmas, @yogidream.scapes brought to meee... Lotus Pose.

Many struggle with this pose, and it all boils down to hip flexibility, so if you can't get into it straight away, don't stress. It takes time, so just keep at it, and remember not to push yourself too far.

Note: When trying to be festive in front of a Christmas tree, be careful, they tend to fall on you when you bump them.

In Preparation:

  • Make sure you are warmed up before beginning, this is quite an intense stretch, so it is important to be warmed up before trying it out. Once warm, sit down with your legs extended straight in front of you. Do not bend the knees. Lift your arms and elongate the spine. Slowly bend forward from the hips, and grab your feet, ankles or calves, pull yourself forward and press the back of the knees into the ground. Draw your head towards your knees, hold for 5 breaths, sinking deeper with each breath.

  • Next, to open the hips, we are going to do Bound Angle Pose. sit with your feet in front of you, soles together. Try to keep the knees flat on the ground. Open the soles of the feet like a book, (that always sounds so creepy) and hold the feet as you fold forward from the hips. Try to bring your head towards your feet.

Heeerrrrees Gary!

  • Next, interlock the fingers behind your back, and bring the hands up to help you get deeper into the forward fold.

  • Slowly come out of the pose, and to stretch the outer muscles, lean to the side on one elbow, and repeat on the other.

Now To Begin With Lotus:

  • Sit comfortably with your legs extended. Take one leg, and physically place it as high up on top of the other leg as possible, as shown below.

  • Next, take the other leg and put it as close to the hip as possible on top of the bottom leg. do not force yourself if it is difficult. Just stay in this position, which is Half Lotus. You will get there eventually.

  • Try to flex the feet to deepen the stretch, and anchor yourself in the pose

And there you have it! Take the steps slow, and remember that patience is key. If you struggle with Lotus, but you still want a nice pose for meditation, try Fire Log Pose.

Sit with your legs extended, then place the bottom leg so that your calf is parallel to the top of the mat. Next, take the other leg, and place it on top of the bottom leg.

Easy as that!

I hope you enjoyed this post, I really enjoy making these! let me know if you are going to try it, and if you have any questions. Also, let me know what you would like to see next! 

Have a great day, and stay safe throughout this silly season. Don't drink and drive,don't smoke and fly, eat all your vegetables and stay in school kids.

Oh, and santa brought me an early gift!


Photos by @thatguyjono , who takes the majority of my pictures. 

Namaste!




Sort:  

Hey -- good to see you back :))
As always.., excellent instruction, easy to understand and very well demonstrated. Cheers!

I missed this place! Things have been hectic lately. Impressed as always by your beautiful writing! Thank you for popping in :))

I wish I had this nice explanation about a month ago when I tried this. Turned out I wasn't properly warmed up, so I ended up hurting the knee quite badly. It's about recovered now, so I'm trying this again. :)

Aww I'm sorry to hear that! I know how you feel. Just be very careful, because often an injury will feel healed before it properly is, so take it slow. Also, when lifting the foot to bring it to the top of the leg, try not to lift it any higher than you need to, this will prevent too much extra strain on the knees. I'm so glad you liked the post, and I wish you all the best. As long as a Christmas tree doesn't fall on you, you're already doing better than I did!

I'll keep this in mind in my future endeavors! Thanks for the kind words and all the best to you as well! Happy holidays! : ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33