You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Folk Remedies: Salt Therapy (halotherapy) Dtube Vlog

in #health6 years ago

Wow girl! This us a great & in depth blog post. Sorry to hear of your respiratory ailments. There's a salt room here in town which felt pretty cool to be inside of for a 1.5hr session. I've heard mixed reviews about the safety of Himalayan salt. That some of it is harmful because it emits something, maybe radiation? I actually don't recall what it was. Have you heard anything like that? I grew up like your husband! Those scents were akin to 'love' to me for many years!! It was tricky to move away from them tbh. It took around 3-5 years to make the shift! Now, it feels like assault walking past dryer vents pumping out scent. It's crazy how toxic they all are. Have a wonderful day ❤

Sort:  

I would love to sit inside a salt room. So cool that you got a chance to try it. I remember there was some controversy circulating several years ago about the safety of the 28 trace minerals in the salt and the fact that the salt has not been processed and filtered makes it unsafe. As with most folk medicine, the scientific circle does not support claims of any health benefits (there have been few studies conducted) but they also say that it's no better/worse than other salts. I always get nervous when I see claims of any kind on things that we use and end up wasting hours researching. Half the time there is no conclusive evidence either way.

For me, the fact that it works and makes me feel better and prevents me from inhaling all the junk they put in inhalers is enough evidence that it's not doing me harm.

Here are some details on one study that you might find interesting. The link to the actual study did not work but I'll dig around for it.

http://www.himalayanlivingsalt.com/research.htm

Have to say I was nervous! But, had to be honest with myself... it felt amazing. They play singing bowels while you meditate. There's salt on the floor too to sink your feet into. It's pretty special. A large business. That sells suppliments, has a cafe and a yoga studio. In Calgary. It's owned by Europeans. I really appreciate your blog and the link you shared in the comment ❤❤

Thank-you!

wow! It sounds incredible and that is certainly an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Calgary. Thank you so much! ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55