DIET: Part 4 - Drink your health shots! - Simple recipe

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I do a shot every morning and no i'm not talking tequila.. 

Many of you have been asking me how I manage to keep my body healthy and prevent it from crashing when I live such a busy lifestyle. Well let me tell you, it's a health shot, it's plant based and it's super cheap and easy to make.

My dad is Indian. He's now 73 and he's only been sick twice in his entire life. I'm serious.
What's his secret? All kinds of weird and wonderful things that would raise a few eyebrows, but all of his remedies come from plants! 

Health shots have thankfully hit the mainstream health scene, but I find buying health shots is kind of expensive. Here's how I make my immune boosting shots in a batch and it costs next to nothing..

First you'll need the following ingredients:

1. Lemon 

2. Ginger (this is young ginger, you can use either)

3. Turmeric (this is raw turmeric for those of you who are used to the powder :-) )

4. Cayenne pepper (bought in a packet in the dried foods section)


Method:


1. Peel lemon, peel ginger, peel turmeric and chop. I use 2 inches of turmeric, 3 inches of ginger, 1/2 lemon to make 3 shots. Use as much as you like!

2. Put chopped lemon, turmeric and ginger into blender. Add as much cayenne pepper as you can handle. I use this much..

3. Add water into the blender too. I recommend using a small blender because it's easier to manage. 

I add 3/4 cup of water to produce 3 shots at a time. I like it very strong, but if you want it more diluted of course go ahead and add more water. You can also make more at one time if you like! I prefer to make mine as I go so it's extra fresh, but go ahead and make a week's worth if you want to. You can keep it in the fridge in a bottle with a lid (glass is best).

4. Blitz it up until smooth and then strain into a glass

Excuse the turmeric hands. You might want to wear gloves ;-)

This is 3 days worth. I keep it in a bottle in the fridge and drink one shot every morning!

This stuff keeps me alive when i'm busy, stops me crashing and energises me too. Plus it's good for you! :-)

Health benefits

- Lemon, when digested in the body is alkaline, not acid as many people believe. It's a great dose of vitamin C and is best consumed in the morning on an empty stomach. It's great for flushing your system in the morning and also improving digestion.
- Ginger and turmeric have various health benefits including helping with immunity and act as an anti inflammatory.
- Cayenne pepper boots metabolism and helps with digestion, among other things. Plus i've always felt it helps keep my throat clear and stops it getting swollen.

All of these things together make for the perfect morning shot! If it's a little intense for you, you can always add some Manuka Honey to sweeten things up.

I get all my ingredients from either the market or the local food store, each ingredient is usually easily available. 

Thank you to @lenasveganliving for getting me into the fruits and veggies Monday posting!

Yasmine

Sort:  

I'm going to keep this and give it a try, just not sure if my local store carries whole tumeric.

Where are you based? You can get it from most local food markets or you can use turmeric powder too! Much less messy on the hand too ;-)

In florida it wasn't at my local store but I do have the powder do you think it's just as good?

I'm not sure how it will be texture wise.. but should do the same thing! Give it a go and let me know how it goes. Would love to know :-)

I've actually never tried shots before.. Looks like it's time for me to start making them :) Thanks for the recipe, sounds pretty simple, can't wait to try it!

That's great, Nina! Let me know how you get on with them :-)

Great. So I can expect these from you when you stay at mine over the weekend, right? Haha

I mean if you want a yellow stained kitchen then sure ;-)
Ohhhh alright i'll prep you some in advance!

Haha, YESSSS.

Much better then tequila, or flu shot, lol...............this is a powerful boost. I make similar when I get sore throat, which happens only once a year at the begging of winter. But I am sure if I drink this every morning, I would't get it at all 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

That's true @lenasveganliving they say prevention is much better than cure! :-)

I agree and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

OH MY GOSH!!! WOW!!! Thank you so much! I'm grinning right now. Thanks!

Omg, not sure I would be able to handle that taste :D. Maybe it's all about getting used to it :D

I actually love the flavour now, but even if you don't it's only a shot so you can throw it back! :-) And you can always add some honey too.

Haha that's true. Will have to be maple syrup in my case =) I need to try it now.
Just have to get a smaller blender =)

Yes small blender is definitely necessary.

Hello I really like your post, hope you keep posting other interesting things.Glad to be friends with you... 😊

Thanks so much for your feedback @afriza I will try to post more like this in that case!

I loved your post. In my country there is a store that sells this shot. but now that you share your recipe, it's better to do it at home. Good Luck in the contest!

Yes I agree! I always used to buy them, but now I just make them instead. Much cheaper and also you can control how fresh they are :-)

Totally love this, will definitely try it out. I don't like the taste of raw turmeric tho, maybe il accompany it with bit of honey, yeah?

You can skip the turmeric all together and just use ginger, or use a turmeric powder if you prefer. Or of course add some honey in. I like Manuka honey if you can get your hands on any!

awesome, thanks for your response. i think il go with adding honey as turmeric has tones of its own benefits, and honey does too. will look around for manuka honey. thanks again.

You're so welcome! Thanks for stopping by here :-)

I've been back in the habit of doing warm lemon water first thing in the morning with a splash of apple cider vinegar. Perhaps now that I've got the routine down again I can pump it up with even more nutrition with a shot like this. :)

That's definitely my go-to as well. It's so easy to fall out of goof habits. Well done you for getting back on it!

Nice recipe @yasminep and very well presented!

Thanks so much. My first ever recipe so I really appreciate that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53