Aloe Vera Health and Beauty Benefits!!

in #health7 years ago

 

Hi Steemers, 

Today I want to share with you my favorite plant - Aloe Vera! This baby here works wonders. I can always rely on her for skin care and health benefits.  But my favorite use is in my smoothie drinks.
I have 2 pots sitting outside basking in the sunlight right now and during the winter time I bring them back inside to keep them nice and healthy, since we have cold winters in Canada! 



Aloe Vera are good for cuts, itches and burns/sunburns. You can apply it directly on your face in the morning or at night and it helps keep your skin smooth and moisturized. At night time I like to use aloe vera as a face mask while watching Netflix and no need to wash or rinse it off as it will disappear magically as your skin absorbs it. 

For anyone who gets those cold sores or canker sores on the inside of your lip aloe works great as it heals and take the pain away quicker than anything you can buy.  These are only some of the many benefits of using aloe that I personally use it for. 

I recommend buying a small plant from Home Depot or any greenhouse/store that sells plants and grow your own army of aloe plants.  As your plant grows bigger you will notice smaller ones which you can transplant to a separate pot.  But remember once a year to add new soil to keep your aloe plant healthy! 

Alternatively, Aloe vera can be used in drinks. I like to make fruit smoothies and add some aloe in my drinks. Just pluck 1 or 2 leaves (make sure to always cut/pluck the leave close to the bottom of the plant), wash it, cut it and add them to your drink. Make sure you wash thoroughly as the plant has a yellow liquid that comes out once your pluck it (this is kinda like its blood, yuck!).  This yellow substance can cause irritation to some people so just rinse it off. 



This is how I like to prepare my drink - The plant has sharp thorns on the side so make sure you cut the edges off. Then carefully, peel it with a knife or use a peeler to take the skin off.

Once you are done, you should have something like this!  It will feel gooey and slimey but don't worry!! Its suppose to be like this!  You can store any unused aloe in the fridge to keep it fresh.

Then pick out your favorite fruits - I went with strawberries, blueberries and mango!  Yum!

Add some juice and blend ~

Voila!

You can also add small pieces of aloe jelly in your drink after you blend it. It'll be like coconut jelly in a drink. If anyone has any other benefits that they personally use aloe for, please feel free to share in the comment section.


I hope you enjoy this post! Happy Aloe drinking!!!  
 


Sort:  

Congratulations @xredsoulless! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I recently used aloe vera for a burn on my hand, really didn't believe how effective it was! It got me interested in all its uses. Thank you for this post!

Your welcome! Always good to have it around the house for these types of ailments, especially for burns :)

How often do you water it? I remember someone saying that they like very dry conditions?

Hi wreckognize! I water it once a week. They do like the sun but some shade is nice cause they do turn brown if the sun is too hot. You also have to repot it once it grow bigger :)

It would be a great idea for me to get some aloe plants for smoothies. I make fruit smoothies all the time anyways.
Thanks for suggesting it.

Your welcome!! :)

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

you are right @xredsoulless aloe is very helpfull for skin, i used it it removes the pimple in few mints , nice post and keep posting stuff like this , i am looking forward for your next post ,

I'm glad you enjoyed it, this was my 2nd post on Steemit as a Noob! Too bad I had 0 followers when I posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33