You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Listening to the silence Part 2: 3 benefits of silence, proven by scientific experiments

in #health7 years ago

It's as if our society encourages us to stay tuned in to media of some kind to keep our minds from wandering. No value is given to allowing our brains to free-wheel and to determine where our thoughts should go. So many times in my past, some adult would tell me that my mind was wandering or that I was daydreaming, and they were correct, but that didn't mean it was not working.

Just yesterday I was outdoors all day working on gardening chores with my dog nearby and only the sound of birds and a few farm animals providing background sounds. After two hours it was almost as if I were in a totally different place as time slowed down and the ever-present world problems disappeared from my "worry processor" and I existed in the NOW. My hands worked and I had time to be aware of sounds and scents. The sound of a distant, passsing jet plane was a brief irritation. Spending a full day with myself allowed me to experience the day.

I need to work on my underlying guilt and learn that it's okay to exist without constant input from people and artificial, non-contributing things.

Sort:  

@ willymac, I thank you for coming here and leaving such a meaningful comment. I can relate to your words! Yes, it is a pity how people sometimes are absorbed by things and not living in NOW.

I would really love to read posts from your perspective (as you old enough to have it%) I just loved how you put it together.

Continue enjoying your life here and now and I would be glad to witness it through your writings! All the best to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57