You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mega Farming Corporations Taking Over the United States and Offering Low Quality Food

in #health7 years ago

Specifically how is quality defined in this context? What attributes of the food are different in the organic vs mass produced food. Does a tomato know if its happy and therefore taste better? Note the author of this remark is in no way connected to the food industry except as a consumer.

I am however a well traveled consumer and have had my fair share of "runs-in" with bad food in the world grown by local farms. In the US, incidences of food poisoning like Chipotle make the national news and nearly ruin the corporation. In most of the rest of the world it barely causes a murmur. I would argue that the highest element of quality is not to make you sick. But in the US we disregard that because we take it for granted. The next is to have enough food to feed us (well most of us could use a little less) but even your article pointed out that our system needs to produce 10X the amount of food. Can the Organic local farmers feed Houston?

This topic will always attract strong feelings but I can honestly say that when I walk into an ordinary supermarket in the US, I see fresh food of a variety and quality that I seldom see overseas and I can eat it without fear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63775.42
ETH 3493.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53