Weight Lost Journey 220LBS - 180LBS

in #health6 years ago

Hey everyone I've been on a weight lost journey and have been meaning to show my progress for the last 2 1/2 months. I've been trying lose weight for years and only seem to lose around 10 pounds before going back to my bad habits and gaining all of it back. Recently I've made a big push to really get myself together and I'm happy how things are working out. I've noticed various improvements in my life and I'm hoping by sharing my progress that I can help others.

Diet/ Lifestyle
First off I want to say that my mindset for a diet had to change. I've on diets that helped me lose weight to a point but I always seemed to gain it all back. It wasn't until i really thought of it as a lifestyle change that I've been able to keep my weight off and continue to lose weight.
Intermittent Fasting/ OMAD (One Meal a Day)
First started with intermittent fasting as a diet with a eating window of 8hours and fasting for 16hours, seemed easy and fairly straightforward. For about 1 month I dropped around 10 and settled around 210lbs. I seemed to plateau and started to get frustrated. I then decided to try OMAD since it was honestly always on my recommended list after all the IF videos I was watching haha. I gave it try and was instantly hated it for the first week. It was rough and I really wanted to stop but I decided that i already did a week so just finish another and see the results, plus I seemed to slowly lose weight hovering around 207lbs. During the second week things really changed, I got over my slump and hit 200lbs before the end of the second week, and I started to feel more energy and was overall in a better mood. Motivation really kicked in and within weeks I hit 190 and was really feeling good, family and friends could see the difference and it all just keept pushing me. 2 1/2 months into OMAD and I'm glad to be at 180, losing about 30lbs when I switched.
I don't really stick to a certain meal plan but instead I calculate my calories. I'm 5'5 205lbs starting OMAD and my caloric maintenance was 2500 calories with my exercise of 4-5 times a week. With this I made sure I had about 1600-1700 calories a day.

Workouts
My workouts are include a lot of cardio but not really on the treadmill. I hit the heavy bag and do tons of boxing exercises then I tend to play basketball. I usually warmup on the step machine and not gonna lie but it really gives me a good sweat haha. After cardio I lift weights but I'm aiming for a more toned build so I doing higher reps with moderate weights, I usually aim for about 70-80% of my max rep and try to do about 4 sets.

Noticeable Changes
The biggest change is my weight. I've dropped 40lbs and thankfully keeping it off. I noticed that my overall stomach size? has decreased. I'm not as hungry as I used to be and it seems I cant eat as much food as I used to, so I'm betting this change is a big factor for me being able to keep my weight off. It really changes the way I look at food.
My mood and mentality has been very positive and I'm noticing that I'm more productive and more out going.
I feel amazing just from noticing my body changes as well as my progress and I'm happy with how i look. My self esteem has skyrocketed and is also the reason I felt confident to make this post :)

Guys thanks for reading if you got this far, I know its a bit lengthy but once again thanks for reading. If anyone also wants some help or to just talk I'm more than happy, but I'm not an expert and this is just my experience/journey. If anyone also has some questions about what i did or wants me be more specific with anything just tell me so I can. I'll also be posting more of my progress so stay tuned

220lbs
1.jpg
2.jpg

185
3.jpg
4.jpg5.jpg
Also I'm starting an abs regiment to destroy that pesky fat on my midsection :p

Sort:  

this is my bodytransformation of 40 weeks

36721149_230245520917885_3540235254537125888_o.jpg

Hey thanks! Congrats on your transformation as well. Also what type of workout regiment did you use? I've been meaning to change my workout a little bit.

Congratulations @waddlinghippo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

great post. I look forward to more posts

Congratulations @waddlinghippo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63