You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let the Sunshine Down Upon You: Practical Healthy Sun Protection

in #health6 years ago

I use shea butter which a friend brought me from Ghana - organic, homemade, virgin. Apparently, shea butter is the only thing that protects the skin from hot African sun, none of the other stuff works. You can get unrefined shea butter in organic shops.

I also agree with you that we need the sunshine, it's part of healthy life. Since I live in the UK where sunshine is a deficit good, whenever it comes out, I just get out and stay there, preferably in the middle of the day :D

Sort:  

A lot of oils are wonderful for the skin and shea butter is so lovely and nourishing for the skin. Its so nice that you've got a good source for it! I believe that many of the pure oils have a small amount of spf naturally built in. I remember when carrot oil was sold as suntan lotion -- I think it had an SPF of 4. I loved that stuff when I was a teenager.

Carrot oil for suntan - makes a lot of sense! Thanks for the idea :D I never knew, will look into it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56416.38
ETH 2379.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35