Diet change, inspired by Netflix documentary "What The Health"

in #health7 years ago

Hello everyone! Hope this day finds you well. I'll be posting a lot more of the content I have plans for after I'm able to buy more Steem in a week or two, but for now, I figured I'd just do some small updates. 

After recently watching the Netflix documentary "What The Health", I was really shocked at some of the things going on in the meat industry. Now, I know that the doc itself is crafted in a way to get you to believe in the cause it's promoting, which in this case is veganism. However, I personally feel that the narrative of the film was compelling enough to at least conduct an experiment for myself and experience it for myself. After all, I really don't have anything to lose in terms of abstaining from meat for a little while.

I'm on Day 3 of let's say a month-long experiment of eating an all-plant-based diet, and I have to say, even though I don't feel mind-blowingly different, I know these things take time and it'll be a while before I undo the damage that I've done to myself through years of eating lots of junk fast food and in general, having a heavy meat intake. I do notice that I haven't had any problems with satisfying my hunger, and I don't feel bloated like I typically do after eating what was my usual meat-and-potatoes-type meal. 

I'll admit, this first week is proving difficult, but it's feeling easier with each passing day. I even heard Jerry Banfield, our big "celebrity" Steem advocate eats a plant-based diet and he looks incredibly healthy in his videos (if not a little too animated at times, but that's a completely separate matter), so that also provides a little inspiration.

In the end, I might settle to be a pescatarian, because one of my big weaknesses is in fact sushi, and I don't know if I can completely cut that out of my life. Perhaps a weekly cheat meal would suffice. 

What about you guys, any thoughts about the whole vegan thing? Let me know in the comments. 


Sort:  

I haven't watched that doc but my bro in law found my vegan living was a bit too much work in his mind (as I make my own vegan sausage etc). But once he watched that doc, he converted little by little 😊 he came to us and asked this and that. We sent him home with tons of tofu and soy curls

Tons other docs on Netflix, as good too.

Good luck and I hope you stay in this journey

🌱🌱

Thank you! I went ahead and followed you. Great to see someone else supporting the cause, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62644.80
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62