Sort:  

I'm sorry about your aunt @viking- ventures😞 I think I told you, but my mom has dementia, and it's been very difficult to watch it get worse over the past year. She, like your aunt, was a nurse for years. My friend whose mom also has it, says it's the disease with the longest goodbyes😞

I'd never heard of LBD before though...all so sad! Thank you for sharing your story and information.

That's so hard. I'm pretty certain that my aunt influenced her passing once she got the diagnosis. There would be no way she'd want to linger like that.

Thanks for stopping by.

I'd be right there with her.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

sorry about your aunt. Dementia sounds terrible and scary. :(

My grandmother said, at one point to my mother, that she couldn't imagine anything worse than to lose the ability to function one's body - or their brain. Yet, I'm pretty sure she, too, had a form of dementia when she died - but she was living alone - died when she was 74. My aunt was 76.

Just going to edit the article to specifically name the meds implicated in the only study done on the subject.

Thanks for including me in pifc!

hmmm age of 74 and 76 sounds like - yeah maybe the brain got tired and confused. Not sure if age can be factor in causing Dementia.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm also pretty sure my grandmother didn't have 5 years past the onset of symptoms - which is rather short, even if she had lewy body - which wasn't tested for in the 90s. I don't know how long Robin Williams had symptoms either... It's an unpleasant way to go in any case.

Great information, Lori! I'm so sorry about your aunt. Dementia is a terrifying thing to face, but knowing how to help prevent it is super helpful. Hugs!

<3
I was spared having to see her at her worst (which didn't last long, mercifully), and I didn't have to see my grandmother when she reached a similar stage, but seeing that specter ahead made me keen to find out ways to avoid it. Of course, exercising your brain is another thing to help keep brain disorders away.

I have just edited the article to mention the specific drugs implicated in the study. Occasional use seems to be okay, but regular use is worrisome. More studies are needed.

Thanks for stopping by as always.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Most treatments are for symptoms as opposed to the cause. I love the point you bring up about Robin Williams, I am usually not keen on Hollywood but it’s different in his case. I was sad when he died because he played such a part of my childhood so I appreciate you hypothesis. Working with people with Alzheimer’s, it warms my heart that you share about this, it is a very important cause and one where sharing information is key.

Yes, agreed on treatments. I tend to have the idea that things caused can generally be reversed if you can find/fix the reason behind it.

I was very surprised to hear about Robin Williams in this light too, though then it made some sense... he didn't just commit suicide, but he was trying to escape a very real problem - the impending loss of his mind! Yes, that would make anyone depressed!!!

Of course, I'm worried that my mother may be only 5 years from the onset of symptoms if she isn't careful - I shared my findings with her, of course. Maybe it's all preventable... though seeing the increase of aluminum cookware in the high-class brands is worrisome.

Good to see you and thanks for stopping by.

You got a 0.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @viking-ventures! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

From what you had been saying, it does sound like your aunt had her mindset. Alzheimer's is horrible, we went through that with my grandma. Towards the end she had no clue who I was, or my aunt. Sadly, my aunt was just moved into the memory wing of the assisted living facility she's at. She just had her phone privileges taken away. She called 911 and said she was being held captive. She's been having conversations with dead relatives. It's been gotten worse of the past 6 months. Of course my mom is now worried that she will get something of that nature.

With the medications listed, it will be interesting to see how I turn out. I didn't hear that Robin Williams's diagnosis was LBD, I had heard Parkinson's. Either way the diagnosis was a week or so before his death and it was said that it played a part in his decision. To someone like him, to look at losing yourself is unfathomable. It does sound like there is still a lot unknown about this.

You were featured in week 64 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @vibesforlife. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your features.
Sorry, I had to LOL.

Of course you had to!!! lol

Rough with your aunt. Mine did something similar towards the end as well. My uncle came home to find the sheriff there...
You can only do what you can do... in the end, something is going to get you - you can't get out of this life alive...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91