Vitiligo - much more then the Michael Jackson disease

in #health7 years ago

For the start, What is Vitiligo?
Well, Vitiligo is a long term skin condition characterized by patches of the skin losing their pigment. The result is that patients start to have small white spots that grow in size and shape.

I got Vitiligo for over more then 2 years now. It started as a small white spot in my hair, as I Did already had some grey hairs on my scalp (mostly Thanks to the little rats I call my kids 😂), I Did not cause too many attention to it. And then came another one, this time on my right cheek. This is When I Got worried and started paying attention to my white hairs and noticed that a white pigmentless spot was beneath them.

So I went to the doctor and then to the dermatologist, conclusion: you sir have been diagnosed with Vitiligo. Nothing life threathening and hey Michael Jackson had it too. So that is supposed to be the doctors cheering up part of me getting my body Looks affected by white spots. Not that I am Mr peacock, but I feel sometimes depressed When people start staring and whispering. Infortunately not only kids...

The cause of Vitiligo is unfortunately unknown. It is believed to be due to genetica susceptibility that is triggered by an environmental factor such that an autoimmune disease occurs. Although there is a pattern that people who got Vitiligo tells that it was triggered in periods of high stress.

So was my case, with a lot of work related stress and the care of my youngest kid who was in and out of hospitals since His birth due to allergies and consistent dangerously low weight compared to his age. Can it be that stress is the trigger for Vitiligo?

Until a cure is found I hope that I can inspire other people to share their stories. I am now over the point that I care How others think of me, but I am most certain that others can feel depressed Because of their disease.

I hope I can spread Some awerness and do also fund Vitiligo research.

Thanks for your support!

Ps pictures are showing my spots

IMG_5946.JPGIMG_5945.JPGIMG_5944.JPGIMG_5943.GIFIMG_5930.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @versctom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63