How I keep my water safe to drink.

in #health7 years ago (edited)


source

I have been using a berkey water purifier in my home for over 5 years now. I can honestly say I don't know how to live without it. In fact it was just a couple days ago I was attempting to clean my berkey system, when I accidentally dropped the upper chamber, causing the spout on both my black carbon filters to break off. Leaving me in a momentary panic.

http://fluoridealert.org/new-visitors/brochures/


Slightly freaked out I immediately texted my wife to tell her the bad news. Unworried, she calmly suggested I go and order new parts and we could borrow her mom's berkey in the meantime. So that's what I did. I got on the computer and ordered a new set of filters from a local Berkey dealer. Fortunately they were open and the guy on the phone had my order ready to pickup whenever. My wife was already out and about so within a few hours after breaking my old filters, I had replacements.

In addition to the black filters I also grabbed a new set of pf-2 fluoride/arsenic filters and a black berkey primer.

IMG_1511.JPG

Ok, so I haven't had to prime new filters since I first bought the berkey water system originally. So I figured I'd take you with me in the process.

To prime the black filters you have to get the air out and water into the filter. The original way to do this was to take a rubber ring (provided) to the spout of the filter. Then you would take the spout and press it up against the tap and force water into the inner chamber of the filter, pushing the air out through the pores of the filter.

It works, but the concern there is that now you have unfiltered water in the chamber where you are supposed to have purified water. It's not a big deal because you would then go through one cycle of filtration and dump that water out and then you would be good to go.

Now, the black berkey primer is a newer product that I was already thinking about buying (crisis meets opportunity) now I have one.

The primer is a hand pump that threads into the black filter. It works by pulling the water from the outside in and pumps the air out of the other end of the primer.

IMG_1516.JPG

I start by completely submerging the black filter in water and start pumping.

IMG_1518.JPG

It took a fair bit of pumping but the water eventually started to flow out. You will want to pump it until there are no more bubbles and the pump stops reinflating.

My kids 'helping' lol

I repeat the steps for the second filter. Now on to priming the pf-2 filters.

To prime the pf-2, pop off the the blue caps on both sides of the filter and with the rubber ring press the filter firmly against the tap and flush out the filter for about 20 seconds or until the water runs clear.


After you flush out one end, flip the filter and flush out the other end.

Ok so both sets of filters are primed and ready for assembly. I start by plugging up two of the four holes since I only have a set of two black filters.


Screw the black filters in place.


Screw the pf-2 filters on to the black filters and sit chamber A into chamber B.

IMG_1547.JPG

Time to fill'er up

Big Berkey beats gravity water filter for removal of heavy metals and toxic elements


Has your city rejected fluoridation?

IMG_1557.PNG
source

I thank you for reading


- Upvote ✅

- Resteem ✅

- Follow ✅

Sort:  

Thank you! I had been debating on which filter to get, whether its the alexa pro pure or the berkey. You post swayed me to the berkey! upvoted and resteemed!

Great! It's an investment you won't regret. I never have at least lol.

Alexapure is a decent product too. Anything to get the fluoride out!

Right on. I've only used berkey. Yeah exactly! #saynotofluoride

Great work @venomnymous I've been meaning to get one of these (currently have a ph balance filter)and after reading this it's sealed the deal. Thanks dude!

Right on! I'm glad I was able to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80