I Have A Mission - Lower My Blood Pressure NaturallysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

After a recent surgery, I've been spending a lot of time researching methods to eliminate not only some of the medications I've been taking for years, but rid myself of all of them completely. Currently I take a variety of pills and insulin injections to treat diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and neuropathic pain. All these medications are serving a specific purpose to control the ailment at hand, but I can't believe that consuming all of this on a daily basis cannot be good for me in the near, as well as long term.

enter image description here

I have to be honest with myself and accept that every last thing that's wrong with me can and will be cured by losing weight, eating right and exercising. The week long stay in the hospital actually did rid me of 32 pounds mostly based on sheer starvation. For some reason, having my gall bladder removed forced me to not be hungry and I really didn't at all for about five days. All I had to nourish my body during that time was whatever they were pushing into me intravenously, so I shed quite a few pounds without a lot of effort.

From a blood pressure lowering standpoint, my research has uncovered a bunch of simple ways to hopefully attain the goal of an even keeled BP, and to be honest, can be fun, delicious and easy to implement. There's a lot of advice out there on how to potentially achieve this, but the following are just a few I plan to implement:

Walking - This is one I've already began implementing. I'm making it around the blocks of my neighborhood every morning now and have been able to reach the mile mark as of this morning. That's four laps and to be hones, isn't winding me nearly as much as when i started.

Meditation - I have to admit that this is one that's featured on @steemit-health and I've now discovered the great benefits from following through with it. Steady, even and beneficial breathing is imperative to regaining good health. they constantly had me breathing in and blowing out the the little three ball device right after my surgery and it was a pain in the butt. But it helped a lot. Meditating has done much more though: help me to gain calming and thus, a lower BP.

No Coffee - I know, it pains me deeply to just say it, but getting rid of the caffeine has done wonders in calming me down. I mostly drink diet 7-up and root beer, so no caffeine there, but getting contol of my massive coffee addiction has been difficult, maybe not as difficult as quitting smoking cigarettes bach when I did, but still a tough task to accomplish.

More Green Tea - I may be the wierdo here, but I actually like the taste of plain, straight up green tea. There's something about that dirt taste that just seems to quench my thirst, plus the health benefits are numerous. I know there's caffeine there, but the healthy benefits actually counteract the damage that coffee really doesn't. I just need to watch drinking any near bed tome though. I like to cold brew it and mix with diet cranberry juice. Good stuff.

Those are just a few and I'll post more about this subject soon. it really help to blog about it and thanks a bunch for listening :)

Sort:  

I am listening to you. My years of medical training has made me skeptical that whether raised blood pressure can be controlled persistently by lifestyle modification only. I will comment after seeing all the options. Meanwhile the strategies you mentioned here will definitely aid in controlled high blood pressure. No drug needed, I am not sure. KEP ping an eye

Use olive oil for cooking purpose. It's is beneficial.

That's true and it is a durable oil great for concocting other excellent medicinals :)

It also helps in lowering blood sugar level.

Great progress mate!

Starting to walk and noticing the increased benefits of it like you have, being able to walk longer and with more ease, must be rewarding in itself.

Meditation is really good, helps with much and probably stress you down resulting in less BP as you say. I usually do it just for a while from time to time whenever I feel I have a calm spot for it. Just closing my eyes, letting my mind wander out and breathing does wonders to the soul.

Stopping drinking coffee, ouch! That must be a tough one, but breaking it is rewarding for you. It will most likely be there with you for a very long time, but feel the benefits of stopping it and the long road you took to be there whenever you feel for it. The Green Tea is much more healthy ;)

I was going to suggest riding a bike, it's good for the blood circulation and geting out longer than walks. But you may be limited in since you're saying you have neuropathic pain.

You're on a good progress, never look back always forward to new grounds 😃

Vote @sc-steemit for Witness.

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

We have a bike and treadmill up at the clubhouse here. It is air conditioned which is pretty important here in las Vegas right now.

Oh, I can imagine that :D

We're having something they call summer here, but it's windy and cold. I still try to pray for better weather to the weather gods :D

Congratulations @vegascomic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sounds like your doing good a few more things you might consider is eat beets,watermelon, increase garlic in your food take a look at a hawthorn supplement and donating blood. Good luck

Great first steps. It may also be beneficial to watch how much salt you eat as that has an effect on blood pressure as well. The recommended low salt diet is < 2g a day.We all know to avoid processed goods as they have a high salt content, and to avoid the salt shakers. But one hidden source of salt that people often overlook: breads and baked goods.

I am in the same boat... was taking two meds for high blood pressure for about a year and half - was the worst thing I ever did. Noticed severe adverse effects about a year into them, so the doctors decided to up my meds, and even felt worst..... decided to ween off both pills, and lose weight.... 30 pounds--- 15 togo.... having high blood pressure is 98% diet related -- if you stay away from smoking, fired foods, limit to very little dairy, and avoid more then two drinks of alcohol a day -- salt is okay, but you should avoid sugar if you have salt - or at least drink alot of water.. .... only my Opinion - most all doctors want you to believe high blood pressure in hereditary - bunch of crap..... most likey you eat the same stuff your relatives did.. you should clean out your fridge, of all sugar drinks.. and only drink water for a month.... weight loss is a big part of lowering your blood pressure...but also just as important is what you eat.. my two cents

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01