The Carnism Diet is a Superior WOEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

I believe a plant based diet isn't even on the same level as a meat based diet. I've done a plant based diet and I was always chasing the next superfood, or gut healing food, or ancient food/recipe, or probiotic, or prebiotic, or the best oil to use for cooking, or which essential oils should I use, what exotic fruits should I order, what nuts and seeds should I be eating (should they be raw, sprouted or fermented?), always looking for that perfect balance of protein to "healthy" greens, always trying to find that perfect time to eat etc. But I found that "perfect balance!!" As one carnivore brother said, "it's having a steak in each hand." All the nutrition I need is found in meat. All my issues with digestion are gone by switching to meat. Some things improved that I didn't even think were possible or didn't expect. It's so simple to eat this way and you don't need to supplement anything at all because it's all there in meat. I love how this WOE has brought me in tune with what my body needs. I just eat when I'm hungry and I do not have cravings and attachments to all those different non essential carbohydrates.

Here's a couple of things I scored the past weekend on our shopping trip. The family and I had checked out a couple new stores.

Local 100% pasture raised grass-fed beef liver -
I got this to eat for 5 days not one. I learned from past experience how much of waste it is to consume a ton of liver in a single day.

IMG_20180115_121408.jpg

IMG_20180115_121419.jpg

Ghee - I scored that for just $4. I'll use it mostly to cook my steaks or other meat but I did also enjoy it in my coffee and matcha green tea.

IMG_20180115_121446.jpg

I also got some chicken livers that I'm saving for next weekend which I think I'll dip in mustard, wrap in bacon, and bake. They are delicious like that - thanks to my brother-in-law showing me his old family recipe.

I also got some double cream brie cheese which I just found out by way of a video by "Keto Connect" today that it is probably the best cheese to eat on the ketogenic diet. They also inspired me to buy it as I recall them saying how delicious it is in another video. Apparently it has a higher fat to protein ratio and very little carbs. They are one of my favorite channels right now. Here's a link to their steamit account or you can find "Keto Connect" on YouTube https://steemit.com/@ketoconnect

The cheese on a cold rare burger is very good.
Do you have any brie recipes?

IMG_20180116_171415.jpg

Something else that "finally" changed thanks to this new WOE is that I'm sleeping better. Sleep has always been a huge issue for me and it seemed impossible to get more than 5.5 hours in a night. Saturday I slept for over 10 hours!

Keytones and BG levels were perfect upon waking up. They had been way to high in the morning and I suspected it was my bad sleep.
I felt truly amazing with these numbers.

PhotoGrid_1516060266473.jpg

Sunday I slept for 8 hours. This is so totally out of the norm and Monday I slept just over 6.5 hours and I went to the gym twice that day because I had so much energy.

Thanks for listening to me share my thoughts and experience. God bless you all. Please follow along if you haven't already, up-vote and re-steem and help me grow. Have a great week.

20180116_021805.png

Sort:  

Great write up! Followed your steemit, looking for more great content!

Fantastic meme pic. Definitely matches my approach to eating now a days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45