Gie's Lab: My encounter with SCOBY

in #health6 years ago (edited)

What is SCOBY? Sound like scooby doo right? haha..but no, not referring to scooby doo. SCOBY here stands for "Symbiotic Colony of Bacteria and Yeast". A type of bacteria and yeast used in the fermentation of probiotic drinks.

It does look pretty scary and here is how SCOBY look like. The thing looking like half burger meat is the original SCOBY also called the mother while the bubble on top is the daughter (i.e second layer of SCOBY) forming a day or two after fermentation.

canva-photo-editor.jpg

There is a lot of benefits to be gain from SCOBY so let's see if i survived making and drinking this SCOBY monster drink. Shall keep you all posted :)

@originalworks

Sort:  

Uhhhh, how was it? I have heard of it but I'm a little scared of mother scoby 😉 What does is taste like?

It look very scary haha.1st time growing bacteria a bit paranoid! let you know after its ready for tasting ya!

i know right! but apparently its healthy bacteria.

You sure are brave. I would try it with you but I'm so far away :) If you posted something on how to make it I would try it with you. Good luck

haha...lately my making are kinda of more bacteria related.

Next Step, Learn how to make kombucha! Fav drink ever..!

In the process of making my 1st kombucha!! hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98