Sometimes It's Good To Shiver

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Sometimes It's Good to Shiver

With August approaching, and the thermostat creeping towards 100, I decided to take refuge in the Colorado high country for the weekend. The general rule of thumb going from Denver to the mountains is about a 10-15 degree cool down, so I headed out for a weekend retreat to cool off and check out. I found solitude in a grove of aspens next to an expansive valley west of Estes Park and set up camp. As the evening sun grew dimmer, the cool mountain air swept across my campsite and the surrounding area. Its funny how we almost forget by mid summer what it is like to be cold. It's this time of year I'm usually least prepared, always convincing myself it can't possibly get that cold, even up here. Yet, as the sky grew darker and the endless spectacle of stars sprang to life, the temperature continued to drop. That night I tossed and turned as I slept. The uneven dirt below me, the cold mountain air sneaking through my too light for the occasion sleeping bag. One would think I would have woken up exhausted by that cold mountain night. Yet, strangely, I woke revitalized and refreshed. Rather than groggily coming to like I had most of the past week in my comfortable temperature controlled apartment, I felt alert and energized.


Me watching the sunset over the Colorado Rockies.

We often convince ourselves that external comfort equates to internal well being. That when the weather is hot, AC is our best friend. When the thermostat drops and winter encroaches, a cozy warm house our affable companion. Very few of our ancestors experienced the endless amenities and comforts we now have in modern life. Perhaps, it isn't always a bad thing to shiver a little. To invigorate our internal thermostat and rediscover the ancient toolkits within ourselves for counteracting nature's extremes.

Stay tuned...

In the coming blog posts, I will look into the science behind cold and heat exposure, take you along as I participate in a Native American Sweat Lodge Ceremony, and much more!

#steemit #Yoga #Science #primalliving #coldexposure #upsideofstress



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62622.21
ETH 3446.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50