2018 Weight Loss Challenge#FatHarley

in #health7 years ago

Where to begin ? 3 months ago I decided to get healthy I smoked and I chewed and I was over weight but no so over weight that it really bothered me I never really got out of breath and could function just fine. But one day while on top of a tank 40 ft in the air doing a hole watch at work I had an asthma attack it think it was just from the cold air and climbing up and down the ladder too much that day. Here I am supposed to be watching a hole to make sure the people inside are safe and I ended up wondering if they would be able to get me down off the tank. I decided right then and their I'd had my last cigarette.

Now yrs ago I tried to quick smoking so I started chewing and that didn't work and I ended up doing both. I knew that if I kept nicotine in my system that I would fail again so I'd have to quit cold turkey and that is what I did. I did replace that bad habit with another though ... stress eating

I weighed myself and for the first time in my life I'm over 300 lbs with my normal clothes on. I have literally put on about 48 lbs since I quit smoking 3 mos ago. So today is the day I am no longer going to be Fat Harley and I decided to write about my journey and document the whole thing that way maybe others can find inspiration in my success and maybe even feel motivated when they fail by seeing me work through my failures, because Lord knows I'll have some, I'm not naive and thinking I wont fail at some point will only set me up for failure.

What is my plan? well I typically eat as healthy as possible my biggest challenges are going to be the fact that I spend most of my day driving and am only home a few days a week. So the easiest thing for me to do is portion control and be more active. Math tells me if I burn more calories than I consume my body will burn fat to make up the difference. So for this journey I am going to simply track my calories both consumed and burned and adjust as I go. From asking around, the best way I have found to do that is with a Fit Bit, but I won't make this into a commercial use what ever options you have available. I plan to try to post updates once per week with photos so y'all can follow along at home if you would like to follow me I will be using the hashtag #FatHarley and #2018weightlosschallenge as well as posting in health and fitness.

Please join me on my journey and feel free to post comments or links to your own weight loss journey in my comments.

For my weekly weigh ins, I will get a naked weight on my scales at home and will be listed as a NW# but this is a family friendly post so all photos I will be clothed enough to be legal in public. If you chose to follow along at home and want to post pictures of your progress in the comments feel free, but please keep them decent as well. Good luck to all of you and wish me luck.

God Bless,

Harley

NW 296 lbs

day1F196.jpg

day1P196.jpg

Sort:  

Great post!! I just finished a post that discusses my journey to adopting a vegan lifestyle. It might interest you, check it out if you get the opportunity.

https://steemit.com/health/@cool-mike/journey-to-living-a-healthy-lifestyle-becoming-a-vegan

Nice article ! I'm totally cool with vegan lifestyle, i even went 3 days this week on a meatless diet and meat from the store often makes me nervous, but it's not for me. I grew up in the outdoors hunting and fishing and enjoy my venison and squirrel and fish way too much to give it up completely.

I find it great that people are willing to document their transformation here! Others have the chance to get some motivation and some good advice.
You´ve got a new follower ;)

I hope so but not sure how many will see it I don’t mess with promotional bots I still do things the old fashioned way thanks for the follow

Congratulations for quiting smoking and starting your journey for weight loss.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70