Why Do Crossfit?

in #health7 years ago

My Crossfit story!

So in order to tell you why I believe everyone should do some form of crossfit, I need to first tell you my story. Growing up I was always overweight, I would always go on diets, pay for memberships to gyms (and then never go). It got to the point where I really believed I was meant to be overweight. Everything I tried never worked for me!


Fast Forward to Today!

The picture below is of me and my transformation ( left: was in 2015, Right: Today!)


In this picture when I look at the guy on the left I don't notice him. I remember how lost that guy was and how much that guy wanted to just skate by. That guy on the left never really had any dreams or goals, I swear if I went to a doctor they would of probably said I had depression. 

The guy on the right, on the other hand, has never felt better. I have found that through hard work and dedication that I am more healthy and to top it off I have started running!


The picture below ( on the right was the month I started working out at Crossfit, The one on the left is of a couple months ago.) 


I barely made it when I did the 7k in Denver the first time.. I think I actually got sick afterwards if I am completely honest hahaha!!

The most recent one was higher in altitude and more up hill! That one I felt like I could have kept going!! I think through running and crossfit I have really found a passion that I can stand behind!!


So Why Crossfit?


First off just take a look at some of the testimonies.. ( This one is inspiring!).. It will show you that it doesn't matter who you are, what walk of life you come from.. You can accomplish anything!

To top it off the Trainers are amazing! I have been to two gyms.. Both Gym Trainers have asked me about my hand, and have asked if I had any previous injuries.  If you do have previous injuries they will help you adapt to the work out (Instead of pullups, maybe you do band pulls, or ring rows. Instead of front squat with the bar, you do it with a medicine ball!) 

Their Whole focus is to help you get better with out hurting yourself.


Does Crossfit teach improper lifting? 

If you are worried about trying crossfit, because you have heard that it is dangerous, or that you might get hurt. I would recommend going to one of the gyms for a free class ( some gyms have a free class you can try.) Just see how it all works. 

This article explains a lot of what I am gonna say, but in short make sure you find a gym ( or box as it is called in the crossfit world) that has good trainers. People who will take the time to work with you, show you the right form and how to become better. 

Form is everything. In crossfit you don't have people spotting you most of the time, so lifting heavy weights you need to know the form. Through your arm the wrong way, or land in the wrong type of squat and you can seriously hurt yourself! I will say again form is everything. 

I saw a guy smack his face into the mat at our gym with a heavy bar over head because of bad form ( that and I am pretty sure he should have belled long before he started going down) 

Anyways do yourself a favor and check out one of the boxes near you for a free class it is worth atleast going and looking!


And Last!


Community

From 13 year olds - 69+ year olds Crossfit is for everyone. The community of people are amazing, I like to call them my tribe. Everyone motivates everyone, cheers everyone on.. if you are last or first in the work outs everyone cheers on everyone! I have made some amazing friends in the process and I find that I helps to find a gym where people are open and talk. If they don't be the person who talks to everyone. I am always high fiving ( or high threeing!! hahah), cheering people on.. and so on!! 


So in closing Crossfit is amazing don't let the fear of what you think people will say or what might happen stop you from experiencing something amazing!! I want to hear your transformations when you do it.. I know it will be worth every penny for you if you make that commitment!

Sort:  

I would agree, CrossFit is amazing!!

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Interesting. I am planning on trying a class of crossfit just to see what it's about but i'm not too keen on lifting weights. Is it required to try and do that as well or no?

I agree as well! Crossfit is so much better that just a regular gym membership. Something new every day and i'm seeing great results since joining almost a year ago!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44