How to Survive Long-haul Flights - 4 TipssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Trust me on this

20170416_094808.jpg
image source

1. Do not party the day before a long haul flight

Yes, I know what you're thinking. Going overseas is the perfect reason to celebrate with loved ones, however, drinking alcohol before flying for 10+ hours can reduce your comfortability. You are already putting your body in a stressful situation by sitting in a plane 33 000 feet in the air. When you add a body trying to heal itself from alcohol in this environment, it will definitely send you the necessary signals. Your ankles and fingers will swell more than on the usual flights, you might experience increased bloating, and you might find it difficult to fall asleep (if you already struggle with this, the alcohol could make it even worse for you). My suggestion: Rather have a drink or two (don't overdo it) on the plane, but make sure to board in a sober state.

2. Wear the compression socks

image source

I am not a fan of socks and therefore I never used to wear the compression socks the airline supplies you with. As a result I always ended up with swollen and sore feet which takes hours to return to a normal, pain-free state. On our last flight to Phuket I gave it a try, and trust me it works. My feet were not swollen at all which made disembarking in Thailand heat so much more bearable. The socks are great for circulation and they really are comfortable!

3. Don't be afraid to recline your seat

image source

This is certainly something that has been an on-going debate for years. Is it rude to recline your seat? No. If I am on a 12 hour flight in economy then I am definitely going to recline my seat. The one tip I can give you to be a bit more considerate is to keep the seat up right when meals and beverages are served. However, when the cabin lights are dimmed, recline away. I have been on flights before where I have had to endure verbal abuse from the person behind me, but my argument will always be, upgrade to business class for more comfort. I know not many people can afford this, but the reclining function is there to add to everyone's comfort so you should definitely make use of it.

4. Drink as much water as you can

image source

If this is the only tip you take from this blog, I will be happy. When you're flying you are 33 000 feet in the air. Moreover, the oxygen in the cabin is very dry which means that your skin will end up feeling dry after flying for 9+ hours. By drinking lots of water your skin will be moisturised, the water will help your digestive system, and reduce any possible swelling. Water will also make your bladder full which means you get to stand up and stretch your legs.

IMG_20160624_134423.jpg
image source

I hope you find these tricks helpful and feel free to add more below in the comments as I would love to hear of any hacks you use!

Sort:  

Thank you @travelingannika for sponsoring @dse about Upvoting 3 best articles

Yea the socks totally works, not so sure about the free Gin onboard. :p

Congratulations @travelingannika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95