You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Health Foods" to avoid

in #health6 years ago

I also avoid buying food if it's being marketed as "low/no-fat" (particularly if it is some food that is supposed to be fatty) or "low/no-sugar" (particularly if I can read that they introduced other sweeteners instead). I generally don't believe the implicit claim that those products are more healthy.

Sometimes baby food contains "no sugar", but instead the product is propped full with fruit sugars, "naturally" extracted from bananas. Perhaps, just perhaps, if we would be feeding our children with only healthy, natural food from the moment they got weaned off their human milk diet, they wouldn't get such a big sugar addiction in the first place?

Anyway, I realize that my aversion against the "low/no-fat" and "low/no-sugar" food is nothing but a belief. Do you have any sources that this food is unhealthy?

Sort:  

Great question - we are thinking along the same lines. It's really just a general guideline about the fact that these foods that would normally have a natural amount of fat in it have to have the flavor replaced somehow when the fat is removed. Most food manufacturers do that with extra sugar, salt, or artificial "flavor" additives.

So of course, a carrot, which is naturally "low fat" wouldn't count toward what I'm saying here. Of course carrots are a healthy food even though they're low fat.

So of course, a carrot, which is naturally "low fat" wouldn't count toward what I'm saying here.

Of course, that's well understood. I'm thinking more on things like diet coke. You present it as a fact that it's unhealthy - but do you have any evidence or sources to back up such a claim?

Like you, I tend to believe it's better to avoid such products completely, and if I do drink such products (happens very rarely), I go for the variant with sugar, as I believe the non-sugar variant is even less healthy.

Still, I do not promote this as facts, I promote it as my belief - because I don't think there exist much if any evidence that diet coke is less healthy than water, nor any evidence that diet coke is less healthy than sugary coke.

Of course, doing big research on such topics costs money, such money tend to come from the companies pushing the coke, and their agenda is of course to prove that their products aren't poisonous - there is quite much of a bias there.

I see what you're saying. I do mean for everything I publish on Steemit to be read as my personal viewpoint and findings. I should be more mindful about including sources and presenting it that way. I invite you and any others to read my introduction post if you'd like to learn more about my approach and the info I'm sharing. Thanks for bringing this up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14