Getting diabetes 2 under control, by a lazy man

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Quick background...
I am in my mid 40's, I was diagnosed with diabetes type 2 back in 2013.
Back then, my favorite activity was grabbing a couple of LARGE beers and some candy (airheads!) for my train commute home from NYC.
So after feeling terrible for a couple of months , I went to the doctor. I explained my symptoms (urination at all hours of the night, dry mouth, thirsty like mad, vision changes, generally just not feeling well) to the doc, and she kinda nodded, then whipped out a blood glucose meter and stabbed my finger. Sure enough, it was mega high, 365 mg/dl (later found out my A1C was like 14!) and the doc said "welcome to the world of diabetes". Zoinks! She gave me my script for Metformin and told me to set up an appointment with a dietician.
Huh! thats it? Yay me, now I am a diabetic, what does that mean am I gonna die, can I ever have a beer again?
I went on a reading/internet binge trying to figure out what to do. That was a depressing experience, there is alot of resources out there, but it was hard to get a simple plan of action.
Long story short, I have been able to get my diabetes under control to the point where my A1C is below 5.7 (normal non diabetic level is below 5.7) consistently for 2 years, under my new awesome doc's guidance I am slowly weening off Metformin.

Here is what I do to keep my diabetes under control...

Exercise, incline treadmill walking daily
I used to be in shape up until my mid thirties when I got married, and then I kinda said "screw it". When I got diagnosed, I was very out of shape and had a bunch of extra weight. At the urging of the doc, dietician and wife I joined a gym. I tried several regimens, lifting weights, running, all manner of cardio machines, combos there of, it all works, in that I was able to get my weight under control and blood sugar levels started coming under control. There were pluses and minuses to each regimen, I will spare you the details, what I have settled on the last 18 months or so has been walking, yeah just walking. I walk 30 mins on a treadmill at the gym daily, with the treadmill inclined. The incline adds that little bit of difficultly that can get you sweating if you have even a moderate pace. I have found watching youtube on my phone or listening to podcasts makes the time go by quick. Another tip that I found to be critical is joining a 24 hour gym, I use Anytime Fitness, its just one less excuse that is not there, its always open. 30 mins in and out, everyday, thats it.

Eating, sugar be gone
After my diagnosis, and visit to the dietician, my next trip to the grocery was an eye opening experience. Bottom line, our food is chocked full of sugar, everything, it is crazy. Finding anything without sugar is next to impossible. I made an honest attempt at counting carbs, etc all they say to do, which is not easy. There is a place for that, but I found it maddening and had me wanting to give up more than once. Alternatively, I have found the following tips have worked for me:
-alcohol, very very rarely. Yeah it sucks, you will get used to it. I will have a beer or two on the rare night out, and maybe a shot of something stronger now and again, like at a Christmas party. I think having one here and there rather than total abstinence helps with my morale more than the damage/impact ~2 beers a month causes
-eat fruit, helps with sweet cravings that come up (no more Airheads!)
-white bread, nope. Might as well eat a piece of cake, it is that bad. You can find some decent wheat/wholegrain bread that will do.
-desserts, stay away. Have a bite of your wife or friends, you wont die and but you get the taste.
-processed food is the devil, dont believe me?, check a few boxes/cans, you will be shocked at how much sugar is there (once you get a feel for how much a gram of sugar is, and understand what it can do to you in even small amounts.)

Anyway I hope someone takes some value from this, yes diabetes II sucks, but please know it is totally controllable (without ruining your life) even by a lazy dude like me

Disclaimer,
Do not take the above as medical advice! My intent was to explain my experience, and what has seemed to work for me, obviously talk to your doc, dont listen to me, some weirdo from the internet :)

P.S. I highly recommend this Steemit article:
A Short Guide To Diabetes For the Regular Person
https://steemit.com/life/@thecryptofiend/a-short-guide-to-diabetes-for-the-regular-person
by @thecryptofiend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47