Only 10 days off the pill and my body is already thanking me so much!

in #health7 years ago

Addressed to all the ladies and their health.

birth control.jpg
(Photo source: https://verybadapple.wordpress.com/tag/birth-control/)

Hi all,

So, as the title of this post suggests, I am going to write about my experience of using the birth control pill and my opinion about using it. First, I want to really emphasize that I do not intend to "change" anybody's mind of its usage, but merely just show my own belief.

A little more than 6 months ago , I decided to go on the pill. After a long time thinking about whether I should, I decided to give it a try. I went on and consulted with a gynecologist (who was not so keen on it) and a good pharmacist and got the Yaz, as the lightest version of the pill (even lighter than Yasmin) considering that I was not taking it for any other medical reason other than to control my fertility.

During the first month, I suffered from really heavy headache and my ears were hurting (strange, I know). I also noticed my breasts become larger and tighter, which was in fact something I was told would happen. Afterwards, my headache and ear pain went away, but what remained as a constant change were the following:

1. I gained some weight and cellulite started to be more of a problem than it ever was. During the time I was on the pill, I noticed my body becoming slightly thicker. When consulting my pharmacist about this, she said that the pill doesn't actually "make" you fat, but it does withhold water in your body which then affects your weight. But when I got more alarmed about my appearance was when I started to notice my thighs filling up with signs of cellulite in areas I never saw it before. That looked so not nice (or normal) and I really didn't like it. I was extra eating even healthier (lots of salads) and doing some exercise, but I didn't see much improvement at all.

2. Mood swings. The pill was not only affecting my body, but also the way I was feeling and experiencing my daily routine. I couldn't possibly explain you in examples of how this was happening, but the fact is that I just wasn't feeling as positive as I normally do. Now, I love being optimistic and stuff, so when I loose that, it really makes me uncomfortable and maybe even a little bit angry. Angry because: why was sacrificing my spiritual well-being when the very reason I was taking the pill was to help me feel more relaxed?

3. Not a very good sex life. Exactly!! Why did I take the pill in the first place?! Now, my sex life being at its lowest point might have as well been affected by other reasons like: after being together with my boyfriend for more than 2 years now, maybe the sexual desire goes down by itself; or any other daily problem that we were having; or you name it. But the bottom line is: I was not as satisfied as I had been before and this was infuriating.

I won't go on and list all the things I feel the pill caused to me, because with all the information I later read, I could go on forever listing the health side effects it apparently has on our bodies.

Among other sources, I feel like you should listen to this video a girl posted on YouTube which I think is very insightful too:

At the moment, 10 days after quitting the pill, I honestly feel so much better in all levels. My body, my thighs-my belly-my breasts, are all back to normal size and feel. I exercise almost everyday (which I started when I was on the pill) and NOW I can see its effects. My cellulite literally disappeared from those areas where it "flourished" when I was taking the pill. My mood is back to normal. And as regards my sex life, I am about to discover it when I meet my boyfriend soon ;-).

My dear ladies of Steemit, this is not supposed to affect any of you who take the pill as a means of rehabilitating any of your other very important needs (e.g. heavy flow of periods, menstrual migraines, acne, perimenopause, etc) as prescribed from your doctor. My sole purpose here is to call out to all the ladies that are about to take the pill for the same reason I took it and that are in similar circumstances. I just want ladies to read what I wish I had read before I decided to take the pill.

Please take very good care of your health. It is so very crucial!

I send you all my love.

Until my next post, #keepbeinghealthy # keepbeingpositive #keepsteeming

Best,
@thesteemamateur

11796235_1095389203822340_1751511796118704642_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40