Be a LOSER in 2018! Join my Monthly Weight Loss Journey! Ditch the sugars!

in #health6 years ago

First things first...100 followers, you all are awesome, thanks for DreamSteem-ing with me!!

I am not worthy!

"I eat a bowl of cereal with skim milk for breakfast, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and some veggie straws with a small apple for lunch and a small plate of spaghetti without sauce for dinner and a small salad with honey mustard. I still can't lose weight," a young obese boy shared on the television, with clear emotion. He seemed absolutely defeated by the hard work he had put in, only to see his weight stay the same. He also complained of feeling hungry all the time and his parents had been concerned about the child's physical, but also mental well-being.

"This kid is me", I thought. Damn near in tears over how much my stomach howled, I would try to keep my portions small, dutifully comparing meals to the recommendations of the United States Department of Agriculture pyramid that had been a part of my school curriculum since kindergarten.

Source Our ignorance was filled with sweet breads and cereals, but at what cost?

Many of us want to achieve a healthy lifestyle, so that we can enjoy the optimal quality of life for the time that we are alive. Get about 8 hours of sleep, drink water, try to exercise for half an hour a day, and eat right. Well, that last piece is easier said than done when the information meant to guide our health was intentionally deceptive. Industries paying off government agencies to misinform the public was out of our control at the time, but we must work to educate ourselves about what evidence indicates for optimized nutrition.

This time last year, I was in bad shape. My weight had ballooned back up to my (known) highest weight of 215 and at 5'6", I was obese. I was mortified that I couldn't remember a time that my boobs had stuck out further than my stomach did. And while the other excess body fat is not benign, little research was necessary to understand that my stomach circumference indicated elevated serious health risks and I had to change if I wanted to see and enjoy many years to come.

The methods that I used to achieve my body recomposition were not constant throughout 2017. I changed my way of eating several times and I want to share my experiences with these different mentalities for nutrition in the hopes that it can provide some anecdotal evidence for how much these small sacrifices add up!

I know its not going to be a perfect guide to show how to achieve weight loss, but it is my sincere, personal journey for better health that shows that we don't have to spend hours is the gym or buying "cleanses" to help our body heal itself. I will discuss my failures alongside my victories, in hopes of showing that it doesn't have to be "perfect" to work. We just have to keep at it. Oh, and I found I was pretty bad at replicating the same picture angles. If you choose to use pictures to track your progress, consistent angles and lighting make it that much easier to track.

On February 1st, 2017, I dedicated myself to avoiding added sugars in my diet and cutting back on processed foods. I also utilized the simple mathematical equation of Calories In<Calories Out. After I used an amazing spreadsheet tool to find out how many calories my body needs to maintain my weight, I selected a moderate deficit to encourage a decent amount of weight loss, by encouraging my body to use my stored fat energy to make up the deficit.

I hope to see you all back here for the March update, where I will be including not only my one month progress pictures, but also one year progress pics and comparisons of my weight and measurements. I am happy to answer any questions about my personal experiences with weight loss, but encourage anyone considering a significant change in lifestyle to seek scientific, peer-reviewed evidence before adopting new habits.

And remember, the steem work makes the dream work!

References for futher reading

Iadecola, C. (2015). Sugar and Alzheimer’s disease: a bittersweet truth. Nature Neuroscience, 18(4), 477–478. http://doi.org/10.1038/nn.3986

Kearns CE, Apollonio D, Glantz SA (2017) Sugar industry sponsorship of germ-free rodent studies linking sucrose to hyperlipidemia and cancer: An historical analysis of internal documents. PLoS Biol 15(11): e2003460. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pbio.2003460

Sort:  

I've found that cutting back on my sugar consumption has really helped me too! I have replaced my beloved Coca Cola with gallons of sparkling water. Haha.

I'm excited to see your progress! I've been a sedentary person for years due to my asthma, but I've gone to the gym consistently for a year. I am very happy with the results so far. :)

Best of luck to you in this journey!

Woo hoo! look at us "dream" girls ;) Mmm I have to say, I have never been a fan of carbonated beverages (the bubbles always stung, so I would let it go flat and drink the sugar water) but seltzer, especially with a little lime juice, is my best friend. Whether I splash a bit of tequila in at the end of the day or drink it plain, it feels substantial and helps keep my "grazing" tendencies at bay.

I appreciate the support! The mirror has always been a liar to me, so these pictures over that past year have been super impactful in keeping me motivated. I am hoping that by looking at my progress that I have completed, I will be able to motivate myself AND maybe a few others.

P.S. thanks so much for the resteem love on my most recent post! I am so freaking excited about that series! :)

Oh yeah, the bubbles! It gives me the uncomfortable belches haha. That seltzer water sounds absolutely phenomenal! I will have to try that sometime. You already look wonderful! Can't wait to see what the future holds for you. Maybe it will continue to keep me motivated as well. I look forward to more of the series. :D :D :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43