Eating healthy is a long term investment!

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Why you should become a vegetarian? Or maybe I should ask you this: Which one is more beautiful?           Left                                          or                                      Right?

As Buddha said and I can't agree more!

You are what you eat! - Buddha

Here are few things that you might not know about:

  • Less fat and less carbohydrates (meat contains more saturated fat, bad for the body, and leads to high cholesterol.) According to Vegetarian Times -studies have shown that vegetarians are less likely to have heart disease or cancer. For example, a low-fat diet is the only effective way to stop the evolution of coronary heart disease or prevent them entirely. When you feed with meat, you eat the hormones that animals were injected to grow faster or who have been treated with antibiotics.
  • You are more supple (vegetarians have about 30% less likely to become obese.) Fruits and vegetables contain more vitamins and minerals in large quantities, plus fibers that meat does not have.

                                                              

Most people say that the best source of protein is meat! 

Well yes, because big corporations and meat production companies they said so, and took care to spread this message.

Vegetarianism is a step toward a perfect society and those who think of it as an advantage, they can be treated in a row with such people as:   Pitagora, Socrate, Platon, Leonardo da Vinci, John Milton, Sir Isaac Newton, Voltaire, Benjamin Franklin, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Lev Tolstoi, Albert Einstein,Lamartine, George Bernard Shaw,  Buddha, Empedocle, Epicur, Ovidiu, Seneca, Bacon, Adam Smith, Shiller, Repin, Struve, Paul MccArtney, James Cameron, Bill Clinton, Mike Tayson, Steve Jobs etc.

Leo Tolstoy said:

 "As long as there are slaughterhouses there will be battlefields. A vegetarian diet is the best test for humanitarianism. "

Roman historian Plutarch wrote: 

"If you are so confident that you are destined to eat animals, then first you have to kill that creature whose flesh you want to eat, but use only your own hands and teeth not the knife or ax.''

Pitagora said:

"Those that kill animals to eat their meat could easily kill their fellow men without thinking twice."

Leonardo da Vinci wrote: 

"Indeed,the man is the king of beasts,because of his cruelty. We live the life of others. Our bodies are like walking cemeteries! Time will come when the human will look at an animal killer, just like he looks now at a man-killer"

We are extraordinary beings, we can do anything we really want, and the only limit is the one imposed by us, we limit ourselves and we think we can not.

If you want to live a truly extraordinary life, you should demonstrate yourself that you can give up on meat and be one with the nature.

Where do you get your protein?

I let the best at the end!

Ruth Heidrich won 900 gold medals, in the 100m race at marathons and triathlons. In 1999 she was included in the list of "The 10 women in the best shape of North America." 

                                                                                 

Back then she was 64 years old, and 17 years ago was diagnosed with a breast tumor, inoperable. She became a vegan, was cured and still participate in competitions.

Images Credits

Sources: - https://cristtyscrie.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/de-ce-e-bine-sa-fii-vegetarian/

                - http://metropotam.ro/La-zi/10-motive-pentru-care-sa-devii-vegetarian-art6522608927/

Sort:  

So all you eat is vegetables !? No fish , or shellfish !? You hear the saying : Catch a man a fish he eats for 1 day ! Teach a man to fish he eats for the rest of his life !
We live in the country where we have free running range chickens that are like pets ! A pig that is raised in a large area and never mistreated ! And we hunt deer so we can survive up here in Canada when we have very short growing seasons , and sometimes the crops are low and the money is needed ! Our eggs are actually orange their so healthy and well raised ! So just remember not all people need to be vegan to be health , we eat plenty of vegetables too ! 😉👍and we have never tortured any animal !

I stop eating meat. I don't try to say that you can't be healthy if you eat meat! Everyone can choose​ for himself what is best, but what I'm trying to say is that you can be healthier if you don't eat meat! I also like eggs a lot and I was eating meat for a long time so I decide to see how it will be if I don't eat meat at all for 2 months. I only have 6 weeks and I feel amazing! I have more energy and I feel better every day! Why should I goo back? Like I said I respect everyone's decisions! I wish you all the best!Cheers!

I am not vegetarian, but meat is also the less efficient way to get proteins. Meat is on the other hand tasty. Finally, too much meat is also impacting our health.

As a result, I eat everything but I try to be reasonnable with the amount. Meat once or twice a week is more than enough.

And what is important is that my choice is my choice. I want others to respect it in the same way I will respect other's choices, no matter I like them or not.

You are right @lemouth! It should be your choice when you eat and what you eat! I really like that you are reasonable with the amount of food that you are eating and only twice a week you eat meat. I respect your choice and I think more people should think like you! Thank you very much!

Like you I also try to be reasonable with the amount of meat and fish I eat. Vegetables are always in my dish!!

Me too! Vegetables are so tasty. My wife and I also try to teach that to our kids :)

That's great!! They will learn how to love vegetables too...even if it takes a couple of years ;)

Really? How is this possible? :D Did you had a similar post?

Being a vegetarian for me means being in excellent shape and health without having to do much. 90% diet 10% exercise.

Nice article. Love the quotes. A shame that so many people still believe that you need to eat meat for a healthy diet.

True! I start to be a vegetarian 2 months ago and until now is amazing! Thank you for your time.

A very important & valuable post. Upped & re-steemed. I have been vegan for three years now and my body is soooooo much healthier than it was before. I have more energy, never get sick and my pot belly has been replaced by abdominal muscles, without having to go to the gym. And most importantly my spiritual awareness has increased :)

Wow, thank you very much, I appreciate it! Is nice to hear that you are much healthier and have more energy!

Nice to see someone with same interest. Great post :)

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it! Cheers!

Vegetarianism has enough health benefits and other merits that it should be allowed to stand in its own. Adding things like doctored images (the meat and vegetable photos were clearly not processed the same), shock photos (children crying), and dubious health claims (cutting out meat reduces certain cancer risks but it certainly doesn't cure breast cancer) only hinders its acceptance in the general population.

Nice to see that your first comment you wrote is on my post. First, welcome to Steemit and I want to thank you for the feedback. It means a lot. Just imagine how it would look like if all the people on the planet will stop eating meat. More happiness and a lot more healthy people!

Wow enlightening. Definitely going to push vegan and vegetarian items from my new freezedrier. I can eat all i want fresh while i have ensured i have the freshest ingredients put away for when i cant get fresh :) this will encourage me to experiment more with this lifestyle and plan to keep it going no matter what. I will learn all i can. Thank you!

The trick on everything is to just try it for a short period to see and understand if it's better or not for you! Then you will know what to do next. I wish you the best.Cheers.

That's good advice thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34