Let food be thy medicine. Here's what's in my natural medicine cabinet...

in #health7 years ago (edited)

natural-medicine-cabinet.jpeg
I've always been naturally inclined and typically let my body heal on its own instead of choosing more conventional therapies (like antibiotics that obliterate both the illness causing viruses and bacteria as well as the immune system's natural defenders.) I choose to use nutrition and natural remedies to support a healthy immune system. Here are my favorite vitamins, foods, homeopathic medications, essential oils and herbal remedies that ensure the health of me and my family, naturally.
(I should also disclaim that I'm not a healthcare provider nor pretend to be one..just sharing what works for me and my family.)

Optimal Immunity with Daily Vitamin D3 & K2 (5,000 IU)

I think the single most important element to a healthy immune system is Vitamin D generating sunshine. During winter months, I supplement with Vitamin D3 plus K2 (which is critical for absorption).

vitamind.JPG

Brain Boosting Morning Joe

Mushroom Coffee with Coconut Oil, Cacao Powder and Maca

Not only does this give me a boost of lasting energy but it supports optimal brain performance.

coffee.JPG

Gut Building Probiotics

More and more research is finding that many ailments are due to an imbalance in the healthy bacteria of the gut. As such, I take a high quality probiotic. I recommend Bio-Kult or this leaky gut formula from Probiome Rx.

probiotics.JPG

Fight Inflammation with Turmeric

Said to be more effective than ibuprofen or cortisone in fighting inflammation, turmeric or curcumin is something I include almost daily as a tea or mixed with almond milk, honey and cinnamon to end the day. Recent studies have also shown that it reduces the development of cancer cells.

turmeric.JPG

Get to Sleep and Avoid Insomnia with this Amazing Tea!

Not only does it taste incredible but it's calming properties guarantee an good night's sleep. Expensive at $10 a jar but so worth it! I buy mine at Fresh Market.

sleepwithmetea.JPG

For the Kids! Lavender and Frankincense Essential Oils

Ear Infections, Sore Throats, Colds and General Wellbeing)

For my children, I am very careful to only use the mildest remedies. Kids are more susceptible to the effects of medications including natural approaches. If they start to show symptoms of a cold, I rub lavender and frankincense oils diluted in a carrier oil on the bottom of their feet. For ear infections, I rub a small amount of the same mix on three points around the affected ear (front top crura antihelix, behind the lobe and tragus).

frankincenseandlavendar.JPG

Fever

Peppermint and Lime Essential Oil

After the massive Tylenol recall several years ago and studies showing the potential for liver damage, I avoid acetaminophin, especially for my kids. I also believe most fevers are healthy and the body's way of fighting an infection or virus naturally. As such, I use peppermint and lime oil blended with a carrier oil to dilute at the back of the neck and down the spine. This should be repeated every 20 minutes or so.

peppermintandlime.JPG

Cough Remedy

Cinnamon and Honey

A spoonful of honey not only helps the medicine go down but when mixed with cinnamon it will help ease and shorten the duration of a cough. Plus my kids love it even when they're not sick!

cinnamonandhoney.JPG

Cold and Flu

Oscillococcinum and Sambucol

At the first sign of cold or flu symptoms, I start taking homeopathic remedy Oscillococcinum along with Black Elderberry syrup by Sambucol. It not only shortens the duration but also reduces severity of symptoms.

coldflu.JPG

In good health! Namaste.

Sort:  

Great post! Very useful information indeed.

Looking forward to your future content :)

Thank you!

This is basically our medicine cabinet as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63