How I Cured My Insomnia (Part 1)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

WWS-Insomnia.jpgI have been dealing with insomnia since I was a child, so naturally, I became really interested in the topic of sleep and how to improve it. Here are five tips that helped me become a sleep master.

  1. Outdoor Exercise
    Not only does exercise by itself dramatically improve sleep quality, if you do it outside in the sun, your body will produce more vitamin D which is essential for the production of the sleep hormone melatonin.

  2. Herbal Teas
    There are many teas that have been shown to reduce insomnia: chamomile, valerian root, lavender, St. John's wort, ginger, turmeric, lemon balm etc. I mostly drink chamomile or a herbal tea blend with the above-mentioned ingredients. Do not underestimate the potency and power of these teas, if you drink enough they will knock you out cold.

  3. Meditation
    Besides this beeing the #1 habit to cultivate for a better life, it also has an amazing effect on your sleep quality and ability to fall asleep. It does this by quieting the mind and reducing the stress hormone cortisol.

  4. Cold Showers
    This one seems kind of counter-intuitive I know, but trust me it works wonders. Just hop in a cold shower for a few minutes then go to bed. Here is an article on the topic that cites some studies: http://valleysleepcenter.com/coldshower/

  5. No Alarm
    Unfortunately, not everyone has the luxury to do this, but if you do I have found it to be extremely beneficial. Obviously, try to maintain a consistent sleep schedule, but not having to worry and calculate the amount of sleep I will get before my alarm rings is a blessing for any insomniac.
    images.png

    introduction.jpg

Share your favorite sleep hacks in the comments, and please upvote & resteem if this post helped you in any way.

Sort:  

Cold showers...who would of thought. I'll give that a try I never really considered it...from a cursory google search sounds like there is something to it.

Also - any specific brand of herbal tea you would suggest?

No not really

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07