5 Key Results From HIIT: Real Data, Very Personal.

in #health6 years ago

100_0209.JPG

High intensity interval training first became of interest to me about a year ago. Read this article that piqued my interest, you’ll understand my thinking better. http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/03/100311123639.htm

What caught my attention immediately from this article was the fact that more could be accomplished with greater effectiveness in less time. Look at the simple routine: 10 one-minute bursts…I could do that. It seemed much more interesting than slugging out 30 minutes of cardio on the treadmill. I like short stories, not novels. The other motivating factor was my changing focus on fitness priorities. Personal fitness goals in the past focused on what was visible in the mirror. Now, the mirror is a relentless critic. Big arm goals have morphed into blood sugar stats; bulk and definition have fallen by the wayside to cholesterol ratios. I’ve decided that the heart muscle, these days, takes priority over the pecs and delts. My simple training philosophy in the sixth decade is this: if the heart muscle stops, all else is irrelevant.

Some Background, Then the Numbers

My normal training routine is different from what you typically see in the gym. I’ve designed my program around a total body workout every session (3 times/week) using opposing muscle groups each set, no rest between sets. I work large muscle groups to smaller as I progress. Everything is accomplished in 30 minutes and can be done in 20 minutes with modifications. By going without rest, cardio is part of every routine. After reading this HIIT article a year ago, I now start every workout with 10 minutes on the treadmill. Walk one minute, run one minute. Heart rate after run goes to about 150. This has become a great warm-up for my lifting routine and the heart rate easily stays elevated now through the lifting. Once a week I add another ten minutes of HIIT to the end of the lifting routine. It’s much harder after my routine to do the HIIT at the same levels than before the lifting workout. The muscles are now pumped and the legs feel like cement, so it’s very mental doing the same HIIT post-workout. 10 minutes of stretching the legs follows.

P5148692-1.jpg

Blueprint For Wellness

Every year I have the opportunity to save on my health insurance premiums by participating in a program that confirms my healthy status using biometric screening. I visit the local Quest Diagnostics Center annually and am checked for weight, waist measurement, BP, and then blood is drawn for the remaining tests. Check it out…

2016 Numbers

Triglycerides 3.6

Cholesterol 7.6

Glucose 6.8

Diastolic BP 76

2017 Numbers

Triglycerides 1.4

Cholesterol 3.2

Glucose 4.5

Diastolic BP 62

The only significant change to my lifestyle routine in the last year to which I can attribute the change in my numbers is the HIIT. My BMI remained constant, as did my weight and waist measurements. This is not a scientific study. This is simply me sharing with you what are very real and significant changes that, if occurred taking prescribed medications, would be making headlines all over.

There are hundreds of variations of HIIT all over the internet. You already know that I like what is simple and what works. As you can see, for me this simple change has worked. I can’t prove that HIIT was the only cause for the changes, but you can’t prove that it wasn’t.

PC017998.JPG

To Your Health,

Tanata

1000x96_generator.gif

Sort:  

woow really you are so beautiful and lovely thanks for sharing the nice post about the health and life

You received a 62.50% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @gamercreed!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.

I so much obliged to you)

Greetings, beautiful and dear Tanata

Pretty cool your post about physical activity. You seem to be the person who talks about what you do, that is, there is no dissonance between your speech and your action. It's just a look that you have a beautiful, knitted body, with all due respect in speech.

I don't know if I've told you, but the last few years have been bad for me, especially for family issues. It made me very upset and I left the academy and gained weight. I started working out when I was 13 years old and from there I had never stopped. My body was beautiful hehehe, meshed and set. Now I'm overweight and a lot weaker compared to muscle mass. However, I decided to return to physical activities and hope to have energy for it. In August I will start working out and I think that, with a lot of effort, I can achieve my goals again in this aesthetic area, even when I am 34 years old.

I appreciate your posting and your given incentive.

Good morning!!!!

I know perfectly well what it means to gain weight because of psychological problems. I was sick with compulsive overeating due to an anxiety-depressive disorder. By the way, I live with this diagnosis until now. I hope everything will be fine in your life. I wish you patience and self-confidence. You are a wonderful person!

thank you, sweetie Tanata!!!!

Off Topic. 🤣
I never knew that you are a beautiful woman as you are.
Respect :)

This is absolutely on the topic)) Thank you very much;)

You're welcome :)

I like it this good health.
Thank for sharing this post....

Well, after having a detailed eye on your personal data I declare you the fittest lady of the platform. The level of fitness you posses is extremely an inspiration for the fellow writers specifically for the ladies. Really impressed TANATA <3

Oh, I think you flatter me a little) But it's very nice! Thank you so much!

Excellent picture.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 27.39% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

This post has received a 32.89% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

You got a 8.80% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

This post has received a 1.73 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @stratilatkryuko.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66304.75
ETH 3568.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59