Health Care? The Skinny Act? (a rant)

in #health7 years ago

Failure of the Skinny Repeal Bill as reported by the BBC

patient-pickup-sign-1745442__340.jpg

This is about as political as I'll get...

At some point representatives forgot that they are in office to represent us, the public, not represent their party. I don't know if this 'Skinny Act' is good or bad, I just know what the press and pundits tell me. How many people have read and understand this bill, and it's implications? I don't know. I haven't. I just finished a 12 hour shift and now need to look into additional ways to pay for my son's college tuition this morning. I voted for an official to represent me and do what is best for our district. And I find it a little disturbing that what is perceived as best generally follows along party lines. For Pete's sake Senators, Congress Men and Women, and Mr President, could we do a little more than power jockeying and pull off something of true substance. I think that would be a little like the Pastor, who after years of serving the Church in a Parish, has an epiphany and finds the Christ he has directed worshipers to for so many years, and begins to serve the congregation...

also WTF guys? We are arguing over the bandage, not the wound. True reform will not happen until we take a look at the root problem: the deranged billing process of our medical institutions. If you want to treat it as a capitalist system, then publish your rates. If you want government protection than have them set. This grey area of tiered pricing and individual negotiation depending on what carrier you are with and what level you have chosen went out with the Bell monopoly... Representatives, don't appease me, but please do represent me before your party or your contributors...

I do not take political sides. Personally I feel our current election process is more of rooting your favorite sports team on to win the big game, than it is building a future. Are you wearing a red jersey? Or a blue jersey?
I don't blame the politicians. They are what we desire them to be in order to get our vote. I don't blame the media. Stories are promoted or killed based on rating habits of you and I. In fact, pointing and blaming has been the name of this game for far too long. For every negative ad which airs talking about a candidate's gambling mother or a glossing over of selective points hidden within proposed bills, the well is poisoned.
I don't know how to fix it. I just hope someone does. Because it's acidic out there, and figurative arms are being taken up, and the casualties continue to mount. And just like most undeclared wars, the grunts get the k rations and the trench foot.
Peace everyone-

Sort:  

This post has received a 12.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @swansed. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 1.64 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @swansed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51