Cultivating a Photographic Memory

in #health6 years ago (edited)

There are many techniques to do this, depending on what you want to achieve. For this instance, we’ll focus on how to memorise a list of 10 words while maintaining impeccable recollection several hours/days/months down the track. You can use this for any sort of list, a grocery list, list of things to do, places to go – no need to tap your list in your phone or write it down, it’s all in your noggin!

Step one: imagination is key! The weirder, more obscure, obnoxious and outrageous your imagination is, the easier recollection will be. For example, if someone says to you “apple” you can see an apple in your mind. It may be red or green, be shiny, it may even have a little leaf on it? Sounds simple enough, but that apple doesn’t compare to this apple: this apple is so huge I had to strap it to my back to carry it home bent over like Quasimodo. It is so fresh I could make an apple fragrance from it’s scent and sell it at the grub market; I can smell the sweetness now. I know I will need to wear some protective gear when I bite into it otherwise it will drench me in apple juice. The bite will be like a little scratch on a construction wall, it’s so small it blends in. Which apple will you remember most later? The more detail you pack in the better, put some texture, sound and smell in there and really visualise it.


Step two: Gather your list of 10 words, read them and start to create a story/link between each item. Let’s introduce our second item, salt. On my way home when I was carrying the apple on my back, one of the straps came loose and it crashed in a giant mound of salt that I was walking past. Salt granules went flying and a big lump of it landed in my (third item) juice I was holding. It splashed all over me and now the orange juice has stained my clothes – what a delicious day so far!


The three items on the list so far are apple, salt and juice. That story is going to be difficult to forget any time soon, especially if you can really see it and imagine it playing out. Put things on top of each other, blow them up, shrink them and make them interact. That’s all there is to it, if 10 words is too daunting, try five. Practice and have fun with it, you’ll be surprised how you can make things connect.

Give this list a try and please share your linked story if you do it:

  1. Fork
  2. Pie
  3. Skates
  4. Gold
  5. TV

** Hone your stuffing

Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

We're certainly wired for narrative.
Great to meet you this evening, always lovely to see a new face.

Thank you, it was great to meet you as well. Looking forward to being a part of the possy and returning the support

The human brain thinks in images which is why this method is so effective. I learned this technique...Umm, I can’t remember when and it’s come in handy on many occasions, none of which I can remember...OK just kidding, I use it all the time. Works a treat. Now, where did I leave that salty apple juice...

Yes really saturate the senses, brain loves it! I think the hard part is coming up with the images and really pushing the obscurities. You know that saying everyone says a million times over, if you don't use it you lose it.

The problem with me is that my mind works in very graphic detail, hmmm, it gets tricky often, hahahaha. If you don't use it you lose it is quite right in most cases except for good investments and a good woman. The first one will grow really well not being used and the second one will not take very well to being used, well some people get freaky so maybe that wasn't the best example. I'm off to bed

Great example! Have never heard of that one before - where the freaky people at? I'm sure your mind is an adventurous place.

Oh you have no idea, the graphics are unreal down to every drop of sweat rolling over a hair and bump on the skin.

Interesting. My dad was ampudecsress and had a photographic memory. He was a walking book of everything. Let's say he taught me to polish my beautiful English silver fork five times before taking the wonderfully crispy puff pastry cornish pie from the wood oven by the kitchen door where he also asked me nicely not to leave my skates so no one will fall over them. These were very special skates with shiny gold clasps and I really loved them very much as he bought them for me instead of getting us a new TV and with the old one on the way out I really appreciated it.

There you go, stuffing honed

This is fantastic petesays, I could see all of this as I was reading, I was right there! This exercise is fun because it can take you to places you may never go. Thank you for doing it too :D Enjoyed every word. Honed like a pro.

Thanks mam. Hope you had a good day. Glad it stuffed well

I came across a similar idea a few years ago with regards to remembering whether a word was feminine, masculine or neutral and remembering the word itself by connecting it to something similar in our language. I guess some of our imaginings weren't vivid enough though, because we've forgotten a few.

That’s a really effective way as well. I’m sure you can use that when learning new languages, is that what you’re referring to with masculine and feminine?

Lol! Yes, I was referring to German. Forgot to mention that bit! Looks like I could really use some memory training. 😳

Haha so could I, it definitely takes practice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31