MY 4 BIGGEST PROBLEMS FLYING LONG HAUL FLIGHTS. AND A FEW QUICK TIPS TO COMBAT THEM.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

1 Sitting and the bad posture.
Screenshot (98).png

Sitting anytime is not great, but on a plane with the cramped seats lack of legroom
and the friendly tussle for the arm rest is devastating for me.

  • I try to stand up walk around the cabin much as possible
    also static exercises whilst seated should be adopted
    stretch where possible
    when sitting is necessary, sit with a straight spinal posture!

2 Jet lag.
Screenshot (101).png

When struck badly with jet-lag it can affect me for days, disturbing my sleep
work and exercise!

  • I try to plan my landing time in the evening so I can sleep on arrival.
    flying eastwards is typically worse than westwards!

  • The cabin pressure can increase dehydration making jet-lag affect you more so.
    stay hydrated, but try to avoid alcohol (even if it is free)

  • I sometimes slightly adjust my sleep pattern a few days before flying to suit the time at the destination.

  • Generally the rule I find is to sleep as much as possible traveling eastwards and try
    to stay awake traveling westwards, this is because We lose time flying east to west.

3 food.
Screenshot (103).png

Airplane food is designed to be cheap, I remember taking a flight where not one meal on the menu was soy free

  • flying is a great time to practice intermittent fasting.

  • If food is necessary bring your own, I pack tinned sardines, protein bars, cooked beef bags of nuts nuts etc.

4 radiation and bad lighting.
Screenshot (104).png

radiation exposure can start at the airport, such as; if asked to go through the body scanner.
also the lighting at the airport is very unfriendly on the eyes,.
And Flying in an airplane puts you in a higher radiation zone.

  • If asked to go through the body scanner politely refuse.
  • close window blinds where possible
  • I wear sunglasses in the airport
  • flying at night can help reduce radiation exposure.
  • I try to read a book or listen to a podcast rather than watching the T.V.

Thanks for reading I hope you found these quick tips useful.

Sort:  

I recommend drinking gin for the first quarter of the flight and then water for the rest. Gin will help you rest, water will help you feel refreshed upon disembarkation :-)

first quater of a flight for me is like 4 hours and when i drink i drink fast!
haha

Haha, OK, perhaps I need to come up with a formula that takes this into account... I will get my maths people on that :-)

You got a 1.36% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @steemit-steemit!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hello @steemit-steemit. The post is really helpful. I also agreed with you on bringing ones food along. The flight food can actually make the stomach to churn. Thanks for sharing ths helpful tips. I do enjoyed it. Cheers!

thanks for taking time to read it

I would also add a tip: drink a lot of water!!
I always get dyhidratet on a long flights because of the air conditiong.

i did here
stay hydrated, but try to avoid alcohol (even if it is free)

but yes i did miss out saying to drink water in particular

Not every plan food is bad. Try emirates

my diet does not suit any airliner I have flown with.
i have flown emirates quite a lot but never noticed they have not bad food.
your body kind of becomes the microwave when in the radiation zone.
therefore i avoid eating and always use it as a time for intermittent fasting

Not every plan food is bad Try emirates..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82