My Top 3 Uses For Coconut Oil

in #health7 years ago

Besides being a tasty treat, there are numerous benefits and uses for coconut oil.  I’ll just list my personal 3 favorites here.  Reading resources about the benefits of coconut oil are listed at bottom.    

1.  Oil Swishing To Clean Teeth And Gums
Coconut oil not only kills bacteria and is anti-inflammatory, but it is super-slick so it can clean hard to reach places.    

2.  Topically On Skin To Help Wounds Heal

In my experience, coconut oil helps cuts heal much faster than neosporin.    

3.  Putting In Ears To Avoid Getting Sick

I’ve actually used it to stop an earache before.  It also works well to maintain health by killing off bacteria inside the ears.  I just put a drop or two in each ear before going to sleep, maybe about once a week. 

For further reading....

https://draxe.com/oil-pulling-coconut-oil/ 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20523108

https://www.livestrong.com/article/360264-can-coconut-oil-heal-ear-infections/

https://draxe.com/coconut-oil-benefits/ 


Top image is from Flickr

Thanks for your time and attention!



 

Sort:  

I used to do the first thing regularly, but it's hard to stay disciplined. I believe you had to keep the oil in your mouth for at least 20 minutes for it to have its full effect.

What is your experience with it? Do you use this technique often?

Steem on!

I usually swish 1 tablespoon of coconut oil immediately after rising in the morning. Spending about 10-20 minutes swishing. I don't swallow the oil. Instead, I spit the oil into the trashcan (not into the sink) and rinse mouth with sea salt water.

Steam on!

Very good point about disposal. It can clog the sink when it hardens, so it's best to spit into trash can. I do himalayan salt rinses sometimes as well.

Yeah, it definitely requires patience. 20 minutes, as far as I know, is the standard time for maximum benefit. I try to do it once a day. I've beaten toothaches with it before and it makes my teeth whiter, so I've had good experiences overall. I just swish while I'm doing something on the computer so time goes faster. It helps. Steem on!

You can also use it as a personal lubricant. Unlike commercial preparations, its anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, and anti-microbial properties help keep the vaginal flora healthy.

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86